Theoretically Infinite Thralls

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:30 am

Instead of a normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. Place this card with the character. -1 to his mind to a minimum of 1. Such a character may also be in your starting company.
Nothing disables the ability of Thrall of the Voice once it is placed on a character. That means that during your organization phase, you may always opt to bring in one character instead of a normal character, moving Thrall to the new character played.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1971
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:55 am

Is not the word "one" sufficient limiter?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:58 am

In my first organization phase, I use the ability to play one character, replacing the opportunity to play a normal character.

Next organization phase, I have an opportunity to play a normal character. According to the text of Thrall of the Voice, I can instead play one character (including an agent) with up to 6 mind. Thrall is then placed on the character just played.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1971
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:04 pm

Would:

"Instead of a one normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. Place this card with the character. -1 to his mind to a minimum of 1. Such a character may also be in your starting company."

change the meaning?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:57 pm

That doesn't change the meaning much, as it still gives you an alternative during the organization phase.

I think the important part would be to disable the ability once it's on a character, so:

"If this card is not placed with a character, during your organization phase, instead of a normal character, you may etc."
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Theo » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:09 am

Bandobras Took wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:57 pm
I think the important part would be to disable the ability once it's on a character, so:

"If this card is not placed with a character, during your organization phase, instead of a normal character, you may etc."
Highlighting the differences underlined, I note that this card currently is not placed "on" a character, it is placed "with" a character... perhaps this would argue that it shouldn't be discarded if the character is removed from play? Certainly not the way I've played it up to now; what about the rest of you?

In a thematic sense, though, if the card is meant to represent the thralling voice of the wizard I don't see why it should leave play when the character leaves play. "For some the spell lasted only while the voice spoke to them, and when it spoke to another they smiled, as men do who see through a juggler's trick while others gape at it." If the enthralled character dies/runs off, why shouldn't the voice speak to another? But perhaps then if one opts to use it to bring another character into play, any previously enthralled character should be discarded if not already removed from play.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:36 pm

CRF, Discard wrote:Whenever a character is discarded, all non-follower cards played with that character are also discarded.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Theo » Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:08 pm

Ah, thanks. Although elimination lacks such a clarification, the intent seems clear to me now.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:37 pm

Let's not be too limited; *ICE* in general lacked clarification. :)
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1971
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:54 am

Thrall of the Voice is not played with character.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”