Await the Advent of Allies

Errata issued by the CoE, open discussion of candidate rules for errata, and submissions for the Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply
Manuel
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

Await the Advent of Allies

Post by Manuel » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:25 pm

Lately there has been some discussion about this card, both in this forum and also in the spanish forum.
Playable on a non-Wizard character with a mind of six or less.Character must stay at its current non-Havensite until you play a card at the site. Target character does not count against general influence and its marshalling points do not count. Discard this card when you play a resource at the site, the character is discarded, or the character is wounded. Cannot be duplicated on a given character.
Here is the discussion in the CoE forum:

http://www.councilofelrond.org/forum/vi ... .php?t=878

Mainly, there are 2 questions regarding this card:

(1) Is having the character at a non-haven site a requisite for playing the card?
(2) What would happen if this card is played during m/h phase, on a character in a company that has declared movement this turn, but still hasn't started their m/h phase?

Any thoughts are welcome,

Manuel

Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

Post by Jambo » Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:24 pm

"Character must stay at its current non-Haven site..." implies that a) the character is at a site and b) the site is non-Haven.

So in answer to your questions I would say:

1. Yes.

2. You could not play this on a character who is moving during the m/h phase. You could however, play it during the m/h phase on a character who is not moving and at a non-Haven site.

Manuel
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

Post by Manuel » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:19 pm

I am not so sure that having the character at a haven is a requisite for playing the card. Maybe, helped by some interpretation, it's somehow implicit in the text of the card, but it's not worded that way.

In the same fashion, it's not worded that you can't play it on a moving character. It only says that character must stay at his current non-haven site.

What I mean with all this stuff is that we need a ruling for this card. Some spanish players say that they have seen people playing AtAoA in GCCG at havens, and there was some discussion where some veteran players agreed that it was legal. If that's true or not, it's what we need to know...

Sauron
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Post by Sauron » Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:19 pm

The card says who it can be played on a 6 mind or less character.

The rest would be the restrictions on the card. It would seem you can play it on anyone, but the moment you move to a non-haven site you'll be forced to stay there.

I'll see if I can find some more occurances in the cards of multiple playability restrictions in seperate sentances on a card.

Jambo
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 3:01 pm

Post by Jambo » Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:20 am

Doesn't this follow the old "active conditions" rules? It tells you what it's playable on, but then it gives you a further set of conditions which must be met. Similar to how "Ready to His Will" requires the tapping of a character to fulfill the cancelling of the attack.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2001
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Oct 31, 2008 4:51 pm

Similar style in Come At Need.
Condition is that player must have ally at his hand.
But when it comes to main effect, ally placed off to the side with Come At Need must be able to be attacked.
So may be this card played if only allies at hand are those that does not have a prowess?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

miguel
Posts: 659
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Post by miguel » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:49 am

Sauron wrote:The card says who it can be played on a 6 mind or less character.

The rest would be the restrictions on the card. It would seem you can play it on anyone, but the moment you move to a non-haven site you'll be forced to stay there.
^ This.

Manuel
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

Post by Manuel » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:14 am

So would this mean that:

*It can be played at a character on a haven, and later that same character could move.
*After this character has moved to a non-haven site, he can no longer move.
*In any case (haven or not) the character doesn't count for GI and his MP also don't count.

Is this right?

miguel
Posts: 659
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Post by miguel » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:02 pm

Manuel modified wrote:*It can be played on a character at a haven, and later that same character can move.
*When this character is at a non-haven site, he can no longer move.
*In any case (haven or not) the character doesn't count for GI and his MPs don't count.
Modified your wording a bit, but yeah, that's how it seems to work. Additionally, if the character's non-haven site suddenly became a haven, he would be free to move again. :wink:

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Council Member
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Await the Advent of Allies

Post by Shapeshifter » Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:17 pm

Does the card get discarded if you play a resource at the character´s current haven site (that taps or requires this site)? Or does the discard-phrase on ATAOA only trigger if character is at "its current non-Haven site"?

Post Reply

Return to “Rules & Errata”