The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Anything MECCG related that doesn't fit in another forum.
The Global Players List is located here.
Post Reply
henrikbe
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:02 pm

The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Post by henrikbe » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:43 am

Hi,

I've decided to sell parts of my collection on eBay, starting with the Balrog set. Going through all the cards to make sure everything was in there, I noticed I only had 2 Twilight-cards (grey-bordered), whereas the card lists state there should be a total of 4 twilights. However, I found this thread stating that the Balrog sets actually contained 2 grey and 2 black-bordered twilights:

http://www.meccg.net/dforum/viewtopic.p ... 658ec89488

It looks like I didn't store the black-bordered Twilights together with the rest of my Balrog-cards, so before I sell I'll have to add the two missing twilights. So my question is: Are these black-bordered Twilight cards identical to the black-bordered Twilight cards from the Lidless Eye? That is, can I just replace the missing cards with Twilights from Lidless Eye, and then sell it as a complete set on eBay? Or is there some tiny difference in text or printing?
Henrik

Muzgash
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

Re: The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Post by Muzgash » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:26 am

Don't have my cards, but iirc the Balrog black bordered Twilights have a slightly different text than LE version.

henrikbe
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Post by henrikbe » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:59 am

Muzgash wrote:Don't have my cards, but iirc the Balrog black bordered Twilights have a slightly different text than LE version.
Yes, this is exactly what I feared. Now, if anyone has their Balrog cards at hand, I'd be very grateful to know exactly what this text difference is.
Henrik

stephanesteph
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Post by stephanesteph » Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:39 am

Text says :

Environment. One environment card ( in play or declared earlier in the same chain of effect ) is canceled and discarded. Twilight may also be played as a ressource, and may be played at any point during any player's turn. Note Twillight is a hazard otherwise.

From The Balrog's The Shadow deeps ( red box ).

henrikbe
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: The black-bordered Twilight cards in the Balrog sets

Post by henrikbe » Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:11 pm

Thanks a lot! Looks like the final sentence was added for the Balrog set, then. I just found two black-bordered with this card, so I guess my set is complete now.
Henrik

Post Reply

Return to “Odds, Ends & Hobbit Holes”