Anti-One Ring hazards

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by the Jabberwock » Sun May 20, 2018 7:18 am

It seems that most players going for a dunk win don't test for The One Ring until they are at Mount Doom, and then they try to test for the ring and play Cracks of Doom in the same turn.

So how do anti-One Ring hazards ever see play? Are these cards worthless: The Precious, The Will of the Ring, The Ring Will Have But One Master, etc?

I had thought that it might work to play The Will of the Ring (for example) on-guard at Mt. Doom and reveal it once The One Ring comes into play. However, there is a CRF that states:
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
Furthermore, The Will of the Ring would not have been legally playable during the M/H phase since The One Ring wasn't yet in play, so it violates that rule.

Any thoughts?

Vastor Peredhil
Council Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Vastor Peredhil » Sun May 20, 2018 8:08 am

that is why I am for the change that the one ring must be moved to Mount Doom, as Bandobras found in some rules ;)

btw these work pretty well vs. non wizard opponent's like FW, Lords and minions, all none dunk ;)

yours Nicolai

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun May 20, 2018 11:05 am

The game ends when one of the following occurs during play:

If your Wizard is "eliminated" (i.e., through combat or corruption)-your opponent wins.
If you move The One Ring to Mount Doom and play certain cards-The One Ring is destroyed and you win.
Otherwise, the winner is decided at the Free Council.
Nobody plays this way, but that's the rule.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
bosquet
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by bosquet » Sun May 20, 2018 12:00 pm

Well, it has sense. Nobody would go to Mount Doom with a ring that maybe, and just maybe, is the One Ring.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun May 20, 2018 12:43 pm

But if The One Ring has been acquired in result of influence attempt or CvCC at Mount Doom, a moving company back and forth does not make (thematic) sense.

In past I have not treated the text as rule, but as description. Similarly to:
Lidless Eye wrote:Any gold ring in one of your companies at Barad-dûr at the start of the end-of-turn phase is automatically tested. Any ring test at Barad-dûr has a -3 modification.
If you store a gold ring, it is automatically tested with a modification of -2.
If to treat the text as rule then any gold ring test at minion Barad-dûr would be modified by -6 (-3 by rule, -3 by Barad-dûr text).
Gold rings stored at Carn Dûm would be tested with modifier - 4 (-2 by rule, -2 by Carn Dûm's text).

Texts of Cracks of Doom and Gollum's Fate do not check for history of The One Ring.

If problem is that it makes The Precious, The Will of the Ring, The Ring Will Have But One Master less usable then a proper way to address the problem is creating an errata to Cracks of Doom and Gollum's Fate.
Namely replacing the first occurrence of "The One Ring" by "The One Ring moved here by your company" in texts of both cards.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun May 20, 2018 2:52 pm

@Konrad: That is a problem with the text and rules of MELE, but it has nothing to do with the question at hand.
Influencing With an Agent
During your opponent's movement/hazard phase, certain cards and special abilities allow your agents to attempt to influence allies, factions, followers, and characters. After an influence attempt, the agent remains face-up and in play.

To influence an ally, follower, or character, the agent must be at the new site for the target or at the target's current site if the company did not move. To influence a faction, the agent must be at the site at which the faction is playable.
Can I use Good Sense Revolts to make an influence check if I am not at the correct site according to this rule?
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun May 20, 2018 4:32 pm

Bandobras Took wrote:
Sun May 20, 2018 2:52 pm
Can I use Good Sense Revolts to make an influence check if I am not at the correct site according to this rule?
If target agent is not at the correct site then no.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun May 20, 2018 5:06 pm

Why not? As I understand it, this rule is merely descriptive. Good Sense Revolts needs to have the text "If the Agent is at the proper site," correct? Otherwise, it is not checking for the location of the agent.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun May 20, 2018 5:35 pm

The rule does not duplicate any condition written on any "influence" cards for agents.
Therefore the rule is not descriptive.

But you are right.
"If you move The One Ring to Mount Doom and play certain cards-The One Ring is destroyed and you win."
does not duplicate any condition written in texts of Cracks of Doom and Gollum's Fate.

I did noticed it before but the rule does not say that The One Ring must be at Mount Doom. The rule says only that The One Ring must be moved by you (whatever the "you" means) to Mount Doom. "The One Ring is at Mont Doom" is condition of the cards.

P.S.
You win!
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”