Page 1 of 1

Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:30 am
by Bandobras Took
Instead of a normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. Place this card with the character. -1 to his mind to a minimum of 1. Such a character may also be in your starting company.
Nothing disables the ability of Thrall of the Voice once it is placed on a character. That means that during your organization phase, you may always opt to bring in one character instead of a normal character, moving Thrall to the new character played.

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:55 am
by Konrad Klar
Is not the word "one" sufficient limiter?

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:58 am
by Bandobras Took
In my first organization phase, I use the ability to play one character, replacing the opportunity to play a normal character.

Next organization phase, I have an opportunity to play a normal character. According to the text of Thrall of the Voice, I can instead play one character (including an agent) with up to 6 mind. Thrall is then placed on the character just played.

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:04 pm
by Konrad Klar
Would:

"Instead of a one normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. Place this card with the character. -1 to his mind to a minimum of 1. Such a character may also be in your starting company."

change the meaning?

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:57 pm
by Bandobras Took
That doesn't change the meaning much, as it still gives you an alternative during the organization phase.

I think the important part would be to disable the ability once it's on a character, so:

"If this card is not placed with a character, during your organization phase, instead of a normal character, you may etc."

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:09 am
by Theo
Bandobras Took wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:57 pm
I think the important part would be to disable the ability once it's on a character, so:

"If this card is not placed with a character, during your organization phase, instead of a normal character, you may etc."
Highlighting the differences underlined, I note that this card currently is not placed "on" a character, it is placed "with" a character... perhaps this would argue that it shouldn't be discarded if the character is removed from play? Certainly not the way I've played it up to now; what about the rest of you?

In a thematic sense, though, if the card is meant to represent the thralling voice of the wizard I don't see why it should leave play when the character leaves play. "For some the spell lasted only while the voice spoke to them, and when it spoke to another they smiled, as men do who see through a juggler's trick while others gape at it." If the enthralled character dies/runs off, why shouldn't the voice speak to another? But perhaps then if one opts to use it to bring another character into play, any previously enthralled character should be discarded if not already removed from play.

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:36 pm
by Bandobras Took
CRF, Discard wrote:Whenever a character is discarded, all non-follower cards played with that character are also discarded.

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:08 pm
by Theo
Ah, thanks. Although elimination lacks such a clarification, the intent seems clear to me now.

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:37 pm
by Bandobras Took
Let's not be too limited; *ICE* in general lacked clarification. :)

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:54 am
by Konrad Klar
Thrall of the Voice is not played with character.