Ringlore with Rumours

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Ringlore with Rumours

Post by the Jabberwock » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:20 am

RINGLORE ‐ Short‐event (U)
Sage only, only playable at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and the site. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may replace the Gold Ring with any ring from his hand (except for The One Ring). Playable only during site phase. Tap the sage and the site. (E)
RUMOURS OF RINGS ‐ Permanent‐event (U)
During your organization phase, you may take one ring special item (except for The One Ring) from your sideboard or discard pile and place it ʺoff to the sideʺ with this card. This item gives no marshalling points. A maximum of two items may be with this card at one time. You may play a ring special item placed with this card as though it were in your hand. You may start the game with this card in lieu of playing a minor item.
I would just like to confirm:

Ringlore may not be used in conjunction with Rumours of Rings, correct?

This is because Ringlore states to "replace the Gold Ring with any ring from his hand" and Rumours simply allows you to play ring items from it "as though it were in your hand."

This is the same reason you can't discard a card placed on Rumours to satisfy Rolled Down to the Sea.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2585
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Ringlore with Rumours

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:11 pm

That reasoning seems valid, yes.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore with Rumours

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:47 pm

What the replacing does look?
Player takes a gold ring item to his hand and place a special item ring from his hand?

Or maybe it is imprecise description of what actually (and usually) happens. A gold ring item is discarded then a special item ring is played (from hand).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2585
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Ringlore with Rumours

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:55 pm

This is one I could see getting a change in wording, since I think the intent was descriptive, yes.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”