New to the game and have some questions.

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:44 pm

DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:58 pm
Can the alternative effect of Drowning Seas (target company must immediately return to its site of origin) be played on any company irregardless of whether it has a a coastal sea in its site path? Only the first effect specifies the coastal sea as a prerequisite, but it seems implied for both effects
CRF, Rulings by Term, Active Conditions wrote:If an "alternative" or "additional" effect does not have any "playable ..." conditions,
then the "playable on ..." conditions from the primary effect of the card apply. The
following cards are exceptions to this rule:
• Gloom
• Good Sense Revolts
• Half an Eye Open
• Heedless Revelry
• Here is a Snake
• In the Name of Mordor
• Inner Cunning
• Nobody's Friend
• Withdrawn to Mordor
• Wolf-riders
DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:58 pm
If you only have one company in play, in this case, does that mean that a card like Gates of Morning or Smoke Rings cannot be played for the rest of the turn? Or would either technically be playable during the end-of-turn phase? I don't know why anyone would wait to play either card until then, but for the sake of example, its good to know.
A cards like Gates of Morning or Smoke Rings may be played even if player does not have a character (so also does not have a company) in play, so I do not see a reason to treat a playing of them as a company's activity.
My answer is: they can be played during site phase even if a company may not do anything.
However Official Rulings Digest #105 states otherwise.
Official Rulings Digest #105 wrote:I am overturning this ruling in CoE digest 14:
---
"9. When a card such as River or Lost in Free Domains is played which
states that "it [the company] may do nothing at the site during its site
phase," does this mean the player can't even play permanent events like,
say, Gates of Morning? The rationale for the question was that the
company isn't doing it: it's not a card that uses a character's skill or
something a character is attempting to play. However, (and I didn't
remember this reasoning during the game) I don't think even perm events
like Gates would be allowed because nothing can be played in the site
phase unless the company enters the site, and the company can't do this
because it "may do nothing." But this wouldn't prevent the player from
playing said events during the end of turn phase, right?
*** The "company" may do nothing during the site phase. Nothing stops
the player from playing cards that don't require the company in any way
such as Gates of Morning but you can always play that during the end of
turn phase so it's moot."
---
*** This is incorrect. If a company is forced to do nothing during a
site phase, the site phase for that company is wholly skipped. There is
no opportunity to play anything.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Jun 02, 2018 1:45 am

That ruling is incorrect.
Site Phase
In the order you decide (i.e., you decide which goes first, second, etc.), each of your companies may:
· do nothing or
· follow this procedure:
Companies that must do nothing during the site phase still have a site phase in which they must do nothing (i.e. they must take the first option). It is not skipped.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:42 am

I'm reading a lot of conflicting things...I'll rephrase the question...

May I, the player, play Gates of Morning during my end of turn phase? or is the end of turn phase simply discard a card (optional) and draw up or down to eight and NOTHING else?

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:56 am

Wait, time out! I'm allowed to play wolf-riders strictly as a short event to increase prowess and strikes of a wolf attack and I can ignore the prerequisite for following an orc attack? Seriously? Is that even real? I'm building a wolves hazard scheme right now...

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:57 am

DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:42 am
May I, the player, play Gates of Morning during my end of turn phase?
Yes.
DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:56 am
Wait, time out! I'm allowed to play wolf-riders strictly as a short event to increase prowess and strikes of a wolf attack and I can ignore the prerequisite for following an orc attack?
As short-event the Wolf-riders does not have a condition "following any Orc attack not keyed to a site".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:35 pm

1. If on the first turn I play The Will of Sauron along with Scorba Ahunt and Snowstorm (for example), and for whatever reason, five or six turns go by with The Will of Sauron remaining in play, if my opponent or myself somehow cancels The Will of Sauron at this point, when do Scorba Ahunt and Snowstorm leave play? Is it immediately? End of turn? My next long event phase? My opponent's next long event phase?

2. Can Return of the King be played on Strider, or must it be played only on Aragorn II?

3. May I replace a Star Glass with Phial of Galadriel during the organization phase, or must I wait until the site phase?

4. If I have Galadriel at Lorien, my hand size is therefore 9. If I choose to move Galadriel, at what point does my hand size revert back to 8? In other words, it is confusing at the end of the movement hazard phase whether I am supposed to draw up or down to 8 or 9 since technically I thought Galadriel's current site remains Lorien until she reaches her new site at the beginning of the site phase.

5. If a character is in the same company as the minor item Miruvor, and that character fails a strike against an attack, can the Miruvor be discarded before the body check roll is made to boost his body by 2, or must the Miruvor be discarded before the strikes are resolved?

6.If I am currently at Wellinghall and it is tapped, and then my play deck is exhausted while I am still at Wellinghall, does Wellinghall untap?

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:47 am

1) Long Events leave when Will does.

2) Only on Aragorn II.

3) Strictly speaking, it must be played during the site phase, and taps the site, to boot.

4) The first time you resolve hand size after Galadriel is no longer at Lorien, you no longer get the bonus. As soon as she begins moving to a new site during the movement/hazard phase, she is no longer considered to be at Lorien.

5) Miruvor may be discarded before the body check is rolled.

6) No. Only the sites which are returned to your site deck will be able to come into play untapped.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:30 am

Bandobras Took wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:47 am
5) Miruvor may be discarded before the body check is rolled.
And not in response to body check.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”