CvCC @(dark)havens

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

CvCC @(dark)havens

Post by rezwits » Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:14 pm

Hey all!

I was reading up on some rules and I came across these two [CRF]/rulings:

Attacks at Darkhavens are canceled only if the company is at the Darkhaven (i.e. if they are moving to the Darkhaven, they are not at the Darkhaven yet [CRF].
--==--
Hero Havens do not automatically cancel attacks. Cancelling attacks is not an inherent part of having the Haven site type [Van, 582].


What I was wondering is if the Darkhaven ruling works like this:

If I have a hero company that moves to Dol Guldur, and there is a Troll and a Ringwraith there (i.e. playing against a minion player), I enter the site and face the AAs. After the AAs and whatever maneuvers at DG, there is not CvCC with the Troll or RW, because my Hero Company would be the "Attack" and the Troll and RW is the company AT a Darkhaven, so cancel the attack.

BUT on the following turn:

The Minion Player (my opponent) could play an Orc, resolve some influence, and then go thru his M/H phase for the company at Dol Guldur.
Then that company could enter the site (DG) face nothing, but then at the end of the site phase follow-up with CvCC against my Hero company at Dol Guldur.
Right?

Because my company is at the Dark-hold (Dol Guldur) and his minion company is the Attack?
Basically Hero Companies or FW Companies, do not get the "Attacks at Darkhavens are canceled..." because they are (most likely) at a Dark-hold.

Thanks for any info...
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2585
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: CvCC @(dark)havens

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:05 pm

You are correct.

Both of these come from the site text itself.
Any attack against a minion company at this site is canceled.
Hero DG obviously lacks this text, so there is no cancelling.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

dirhaval
Posts: 555
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Re: CvCC @(dark)havens

Post by dirhaval » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:44 pm

I think that is why minion versions of hero havens have tougher automatic-attacks since minions
can CvCC heroes at their own haven.

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: CvCC @(dark)havens

Post by rezwits » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:17 am

ah thanks, man if only I had the eyes of an 8 year old still!

"It's on the card stupid!" - me, ope...
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”