The Will of Sauron & Peril Returned

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: The Will of Sauron & Peril Returned

Post by rezwits » Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:33 am

Ok.

It's my opponent's turn.

I am saying (sticks) for sake of "timing arguments"

DURING THE M/H PHASE

I play Peril (sticks), no Marvels Told

later on He finds a Gates, plays it (sticks).

Later on I find a Doors of Night and play it:

The Gates is now removed from play.
When Doors of Night finally tries to STICK i.e. stay on the board it can't,
because Peril's Effect of "Doors of Night is considered to be in play" is now there.
But the Doors of Night "When Played effect, happens"
Because:
When Doors of Night is played, all resource environment cards in play are immediately discarded, and all resource environment effects are canceled.

And it says immediately, which would bring up other Rulings such as Narya and "immediately", (which would bring up arguments such as you can't respond, but I am not going to go there, cause you can't respond to "immediately" blah blah blah, ha ha ha), remember NO TIMING arguments. i.e. in my mind you couldn't/should't be able to respond with another Gates, or even Twilight, because Twilight even says, "One environment card in play is immediately discarded", so Doors would have to be "in play"

That's all I am saying...
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: The Will of Sauron & Peril Returned

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:10 am

I think he's saying that if Doors of Night is considered to be in play, that is sufficient for " Cannot be duplicated."

However, (and this is weird) Peril Returned merely states that Doors of Night is considered to be in play. The text of Doors of Night is not in play through Peril Returned (i.e. when Peril Returned is played, it does not copy the actual card text of Doors of Night).

Therefore, there is no "Cannot be duplicated" to worry about.
MELE Rules wrote:In all cases, if a card "cannot be duplicated," a second copy of that card cannot be declared
Peril Returned is not a copy of the card Doors of Night. It is its own card whose text allows Doors of Night to be considered to be in play.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: The Will of Sauron & Peril Returned

Post by rezwits » Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:25 pm

So you are saying it's cool to have Peril Returned and an actual copy of Doors of Night in play?

So TWO Doors of Night Effects in play?

IDK to me it seems to make sense if Peril says, Doors of Night is in Play, you kinda "pretend" a holographic copy is sitting on the table,

Like if using a video game, there would be a proxy of the card in play... FULL CARD.
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: The Will of Sauron & Peril Returned

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:06 pm

As I said, it's weird, but that's how it works. You can have one copy of Doors of Night in play and however many Peril Returned cards you and your opponent can have out at once.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”