I had planned to move 2 separate companies to the same non-Haven site during my M/H phase and then have them join into one company. Neither company began the turn at a Haven. My opponent informed me that I could not do this and quoted the following from The Wizards rule book:
Has this rule been changed or updated at any point? Any insight into why this rule exists and 2 companies can't use region movement to travel to the same site?Joining Two Companies at a Non-Haven Site
During the organization phase, two companies may move to the same site, but one of the following cases must apply:
• One and only one company may already be at the site. In this case the other company must state that its new site card is already in play
(the current site card for the non-moving company).
• One company moves to the site using the site path on that site card (i.e., the company starts at the site’s nearest Haven), and the other
company moves to the site using region cards for its site path. In this case, both companies must state that the same face down site card is
their new site card.
The CRF states:
andRules Erratum: When a company splits, any of the resulting companies can move with region movement. Region movement is not limited to one company of a split.
I believe these excerpts from the CRF support allowing 2 companies to move, both using region movement, and join at a non-Haven site.If both players have access to region movement, then neither player may be stopped from using region movement. Access includes region cards or an appropriate map.