Fallen Wizard not in play

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
kober
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by kober » Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:21 am

When a FW is (declared but) not in play, are his special abilities "triggered" ? For example, Gandalf's "Your characters and hero allies are each worth full MPs". Ditto for General Influence (e.g. 18 for Gandalf)?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:53 am

Special abilities printed on a character card are not active if the card is not in play*.
CRF, Rulings by Term, Fallen-wizard wrote:The white hand symbol on the Fallen-wizard card is that Fallen-wizard's general
influence once he is revealed. Prior to that, his general influence is 20.
*) Unless a text of a card states otherwise. E.g. some cards state how much they are worth if they are eliminated, or what happens if they are stored (eliminated and stored cards are in play only for purposes of uniqueness)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by kober » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:57 am

How about Radagast-specific Shapeshifter cards? Can they be played when Radagast is not in play?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:45 am

Yes. They can be played when Radagast is not in play.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by kober » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:41 am

What's the GI when a shapeshifter card is in play but Radagast is not: the value on the card or 20?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:31 pm

20.
Texts of a shapeshifter cards say "In addition to adopting the given attributes, Radagast's skills become...".
This indicates that the value of GI on the cards is not in effect likewise skills, DI, prowess and body that replaces Radagast's original are not in effect until the card is on Radagast.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by kober » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:02 pm

Thank you, Konrad. One more question: if a shapeshifter card is in play, and Radagast is being played, must I place the shapeshifter card on him (which would trigger all the previously mentioned effects), or is that optional? The situation when Radagast is already in play and a shapeshifter card is being played is clear - the card is placed on Radagast...

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:19 pm

The placing on Radagast looks like a mandatory action, activated by passive condition which is a presence of Radagast in play.

Like many stage resource permanent-events, the shapeshifter cards are not played on Wizard, they are played with no target, then placed on given Wizards if he is in play.
This allow to play them early.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”