Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambusher)

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
davidk64
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Atherton, Queensland, Australia

Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambusher)

Post by davidk64 » Sun May 29, 2016 9:11 pm

Are there any restrictions on which defending characters the attacker may choose for example in regards to whether the defender is untapped/tapped or wounded?

For example the Ambusher card. There are no restrictions listed on the card but I wondered if there is some generic rules about how this may be applied?

As a newbie I thought it would either be:

1. The attacker must choose in the order untapped then tapped then wounded, or

2. The attacker may choose untapped only then it passes back to the defender for remainder

Thanks for any help.

Where is the first place I should look for answers to questions like this?

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambus

Post by the Jabberwock » Mon May 30, 2016 1:25 am

I'm not a rules expert, but I can answer your question.

The attacker may choose any character regardless of their untapped/tapped/wounded status.

Not entirely sure where you would look for this, but one of the rules gurus I'm sure will post later with that answer.

Cheers,

Gavin


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gollum51
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:30 pm

Re: Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambus

Post by gollum51 » Mon May 30, 2016 5:54 am

Gavin is right. Attacker can choose any defender. Card text over rides rules.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambus

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon May 30, 2016 9:46 am

Text of card has priority over general rules. Right.

But as I understand, davidk64's concern is whether an attacker (beside being able to choose defending characters) must obey some order of assigning strikes.
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Combat, Attacks & Strikes wrote:Clarification: If the text on a creature card states that the "attacker chooses defending characters," any characters (not yet assigned a strike) in the defending company may be chosen (by the attacker) as the targets of the attack's strikes.
So answer is "no".

Some effects have even higher priority than "Attacker chooses defending characters" text and they may force some character to be assigned strike before attacker will be able to choose defending characters among remaining characters. And this is a sense behind "(not yet assigned a strike)".
davidk64 wrote:Where is the first place I should look for answers to questions like this?
Just this forum, this section.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

CorumMc
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:58 am

Re: Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambus

Post by CorumMc » Mon May 30, 2016 3:15 pm

The defender needs to assign to untapped characters, so to me that meant that the untapped characters must be assigned first, then following them, tapped/wounded characters are assigned (at attacker's choice.)

I'd thought that the attacker being able to assign attacks meant the attacker assumes the role of that first priority (gets to assign strikes to untapped characters of his choice). Then the attacker would be able to assign any overflow to the rest of the party.

Didn't realize I had that wrong.
Thanks

davidk64
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Atherton, Queensland, Australia

Re: Attacker chooses defending characters meaning(e.g. Ambus

Post by davidk64 » Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:19 am

Thanks for all the replies especially Konrad for pointing to an I.C.E. document that directly addresses the issue. I have a copy of those rules so was good to get them out and read it in black and white!

Chris I think your interpretation is logical to. I suspect we'll be asking a few more questions in this sub forum as our PBEM game progresses :D

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”