Rules that do not apply to Fallen Wizards:
Fallen Wizards have no limitation on how many leaders may be in a company outside a haven.
Fallen Wizards only use standard modifications for influencing factions based on the race of the influencer. They never use the presence of other factions as a standard modification, even when influencing minion factions.
Fallen Wizard characters do not collect trophies.
Fallen Wizard Orc Scouts do not count as only half against the hazard limit.
This is because of the following from "Using MELE with METW" from the Lidless Rules:
All of the above rules are "Ringwraith only," not universal, as they have bullets by them in the rulebook.Unless stated otherwise, the Wizard player uses the METW rules and the Ringwraith player uses the MELE rules. Most elements of METW and MELE are identical -- both of these series are part of the Middle-earth Collectible Card Game (MECCG). Should a discrepancy arise between an aspect of the MELE rules and the METW rules, the MELE rules take precedence as they were written with refinements in language and organization. Do not to (sic) confuse an element of MELE that is particular to playing a Ringwraith with a Wizard's perspective on things -- passages containing Ringwraith only rules are marked with a line of bullets as a sidebar.
This had honestly never occurred to me, but take a look at the first quoted rule from the White Hand insert.MEWH Rules wrote:
- When you play a Fallen-wizard, assume that your Fallen-wizard is a METW "Wizard". All of the normal METW rules apply except for the specific exceptions outlined in these rules. The ME:LE rules that concern Wizards also apply to Fallen-wizards.
- ORCS & TROLLS - Because most Fallen-wizard characters will not be Orcs and Trolls, specific rules concerning Orc and Troll characters are collected in one section at the end of these rules.
- A company with any Orc or Troll characters is an overt company. In addition, a company with any of the following allies is an overt company: Great Bats, Great Lord of Goblin-gate, Last Child of Ungoliant, Regiment of Black Crows, Two-headed Troll. Any other company is a hero company.
- Orcs that are "Half-orcs" are special - if a Half-orc is in a company with only Half-orcs and Men, the company is not overt (i.e. the Half-orcs appear to be ugly men to the casual observer). Half-orcs cannot take trophies. However, for all other purposes a Half-orc is considered an Orc.
- You may not play Orc and Troll characters until you have played the appropriate card (e.g. Bad Company).
- Unless at a Wizardhaven, and Orc or Troll cannot be in the same company as an Elf, Dwarf, Dúnadan, or Hobbit.
- A Fallen-wizard overt company may attack any company controlled by another player and vise versa.
- A Fallen-wizard's overt companies must use hero sites for Shadow-holds, Dark-holds, and minion Darkhavens. They must use minion sites for Border-holds, Free-holds, and hero Havens.
- Overt companies are not minion companies for the purposes of the detainment attack guidelines in the ME:LE rules (p. 31). Overt companies are minion companies for hazards that can only attack/effect minion companies (i.e. Sons of Kings).
- Corruption checks for an Orc or Troll character are handled as if he were a minion character. That is, if the roll for a corruption check for an Orc or Troll character is equal to his corruption point total or one less, he is tapped instead of being discarded. He is not considered to fail the corruption check in this case.
You may not play a hero resource permanent-event on a company with an Orc or Troll in it.
- A hero resource may not target an Orc or Troll character (e.g. Orc and Troll characters may not use Block, Escape, etc.).
- A hero resource that requires a character with a specific skill may not use an Orc or Troll character to fulfill that requirement (e.g. Concealment, Many Turns and Doublings, etc.).
- An Orc or Troll character may not tap to initiate an effect from a hero resource (e.g. Praise to Elbereth, Great Ship, etc.).
- An Orc or Troll character may be the bearer of a hero item, but all bonuses and special abilities are ignored (all restrictions to movement and playability still apply).
Fallen Wizards do not use the MELE rules at all unless the rule is specifically talking about Wizards.
The rule prohibiting more than one leader in a company is a MELE rule.
Fallen Wizards have their own special rules for Orcs & Trolls. The leader limitation is not among them, even though the company composition limitation (no Orcs/Trolls with Elf/Dwarf/Dunedain/Hobbit) is.
This means that Fallen Wizards can have as many leaders as they want in a company. Otherwise, the rule would have been repeated in the Orc & Troll rules, just as the company composition rule was.
RWs and the Balrog use cards to enable multiple leaders.
Fallen Wizards do not need any such card, because they do not use the MELE rules, unless such are about Wizards (which is why they went through the trouble of telling you which parts of the MELE rulebook do apply).
1) This isn't necessarily an overpowered thing, as FWs only have access to middling leaders, rather than the big ones.
2) FWs have to use Bad Company or multiple Thralls to gain multiple leaders, anyway.
3) This would also explain why FWs were not given a card to allow multi-leader companies, which always struck me as an oversight.