Great Ship

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Great Ship

Post by Khamul the Easterling » Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:00 pm

The CRF-corrected card text reads
If the company's current site path contains a
coastal sea region and no consecutive non-coastal sea regions ...
I've always pondered between two interpretations:
1) two consecutive coastal sea regions (but regions speaks against this)
2) a site path ending with a coastal sea region (as "no consecutive non-coastal sea regions" does not imply a consecutive region at all).

Which is correct? Thanks!

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:36 pm

1) What you mean by "regions speaks against this"?
2) Company's site path may end with [-me_cs-] but this path may contain consecutive non-coastal sea regions. For example company moving from Rivendell to Isle of The Dead That Live has path [-me_wi-] [-me_wi-] [-me_cs-], that is not appropriate for Great Ship (two consecutive [-me_wi-]). Path from Old Forest to The Stones is [-me_wi-] [-me_cs-] [-me_wi-] and is appropriate for Great Ship (two [-me_wi-] are not consecutive).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Khamul the Easterling » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:08 pm

1) What you mean by "regions speaks against this"?
The plural form of region (so I highlighted the 's' in regions in bold print).

Thanks for the clarification, I'd always misunderstood that "consecutive" relates to the "a coastal sea region" instead of "non coastal sea regions".

User avatar
kober
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Great Ship

Post by kober » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:25 pm

CRF wrote:Allows the canceling of one creature or the canceling and discarding of an event that targets the company in question or an entity associated with that company.
I'd like to confirm whether Great Ship can be used to cancel automatic-attacks. If I read the CRF correctly, it can not, right?

User avatar
rezwits
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by rezwits » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:42 am

kober wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:25 pm
CRF wrote:Allows the canceling of one creature or the canceling and discarding of an event that targets the company in question or an entity associated with that company.
I'd like to confirm whether Great Ship can be used to cancel automatic-attacks. If I read the CRF correctly, it can not, right?
No way! :P
Just sayin'
It's not targeting you, and AA are during the site phase... now an On-Guard that's a different question... :D
You probably aren't playing Agents correctly 8) <- need a rule thread for this tho...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Great Ship

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:19 pm

Card Erratum: Add "Tap a character in target company during the organization phase to play Great Ship on that company." Replace "...contains a coastal sea region..." with "...contains a coastal sea region and no consecutive non-coastal sea regions..."
until the end of the turn any character in the company may tap to cancel the effects of one hazard that targets the company.
Automatic-attacks are not a hazard that targets the company.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Great Ship

Post by kober » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:56 am

How about using Great Ship to cancel the effects of Adunaphel's short-event?
Adunaphel wrote:[...] When tapped, Adûnaphel becomes a short‐event and causes any one character to tap.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:57 am

kober wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:56 am
How about using Great Ship to cancel the effects of Adunaphel's short-event?
The same for any hazard short-event.

Great Ship's effect cannot target a merely declared cards (text of the card does not contain a clause that is in text of Twilight).
If it comes to removing a hazard short-event's effects after implementing them, I think that it does not work. This is not a canceling. Canceled may be ongoing or declared effects, not implemented.
If Great Ship's effect could remove the effects of Adunaphel's short-event (i.e. if it could to untap a character), then it could also resurrect a character eliminated by cc caused be Weariness of the Heart.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Great Ship

Post by kober » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:58 am

Can it at least cancel the effects of a permanent-event or an (non-automatic) attack?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:11 pm

If the permanent-event targets the company, or hazard creating the attack targets company, then yes.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Council Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Shapeshifter » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:39 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:57 am
Great Ship's effect cannot target a merely declared cards (text of the card does not contain a clause that is in text of Twilight).
If it comes to removing a hazard short-event's effects after implementing them, I think that it does not work. This is not a canceling. Canceled may be ongoing or declared effects, not implemented.
If Great Ship's effect could remove the effects of Adunaphel's short-event (i.e. if it could to untap a character), then it could also resurrect a character eliminated by cc caused be Weariness of the Heart.
Hmmm, talking about cancelling a Nazgul (short) event. How do think Praise to Elbereth works here?
Praise to Elbereth wrote:For each of your characters in play that you choose to tap, cancel one Nazgûl event or one Nazgûl attack. Additionally, if Doors of Night is in play, characters gain +1 prowess until the end of turn.
I always assumed that it could be played in response to a Nazgul permanent-event becoming a short-event in order to cancel the short-event.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:21 pm

CRF, Errata (Cards), Praise to Elbereth wrote:Nazgûl events discarded by Praise to Elbereth have no effect. Which characters are
tapping to discard which events must be declared when Praise to Elbereth is declared.
Nazgûl permanent-events that are targeted by Praise to Elbereth may not be tapped in
response to its play.
Underline mine.

Praise to Elbereth "cancels" Nazgûl events just like Great Ship's effect "cancels" a hazard permanent-event.
It just discards it.
Witch-King of Angmar long-event is only Nazgûl event that may be really canceled (interrupted) by Praise to Elbereth.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Great Ship

Post by Theo » Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:40 am

Nothing in the card or errata makes me think it isn't possible for Praise to Elbereth to cancel Nazgul short events.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1989
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Great Ship

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:01 am

Nothing in the card or errata makes me think it is possible for Praise to Elbereth to target not resolved events.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Great Ship

Post by Theo » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:42 am

Is your reasoning that the effects from Akhôrahil, Dwar of Waw, Hoarmûrath, Ren, while having an opportunity to be canceled, aren't themselves the Nazgul event that caused the effect? Something can't be canceled after it is resolved?
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”