Old Road and Minor Item

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Darksatin
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: Chalon sur Saône, France

Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Darksatin » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:14 am

From the COE Rulings :
"Hour of Need and Old Road tap the site they're played at, not the faction's site"

From the ME Universal Rules :
"A character may tap to play a minor item when a resource is played that taps their current site."

So, If a character in an Haven successfully influences a faction using Old Road, another character in his company can not tap to play a minor item ?

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1640
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:15 am

Inference from COE + MEUR would be that another character in company can tap to play a minor item (if the Haven has been tapped by successful attempt).

However, what CRF says about Röac the Raven:
Röac the Raven wrote:Card Erratum: Replace "no modifications to the influence check are required." with
"treat this influence check as if it was made by a diplomat." His special ability may
only be used during the site phase. He can make the attempt by himself. Using this
ally to make an influence attempt does not tap a site, and may be done if his company
is at a tapped site.
I do not know from where the assumption that Hour of Need and Old Road "are played at site", or that attempt made using the cards is done at site.
BTW. Unlike Röac the Raven the Old Road has not been restricted by CRF to site phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2329
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Bandobras Took » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:03 pm

OId Road and Hour of Need allow you to attempt to bring a faction in to play when the influencing character is at a site other than that indicated on the site's card. Successfully playing a faction still taps the site the influencer is at, since there has been no indication to the contrary, so far as I am aware.

A minor item can be played along with the faction brought into play by either of these cards so long as the play of those factions taps the site.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1640
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:26 pm

Bandobras Took wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:03 pm
Successfully playing a faction still taps the site the influencer is at, since there has been no indication to the contrary, so far as I am aware.
Röac the Raven wrote: Using this
ally to make an influence attempt does not tap a site, and may be done if his company
is at a tapped site.
This fragment is not a part of errata, strictly speaking. But ICE has a manner to write sometimes an statements specific for a given card just like a clarification (e.g. Something Has Slipped). So there is no evidence that an influence attempt made by entity being at site other than a site where a faction is playable, generally does not require untapped site, and does not tap a site. There is also no evidence for opposite.

It is not clear/defined where the influence attempt take a place. It is only know where an inluecing entity is located.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2329
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:49 pm

A card which allows a player to bring a faction into play will follow the process for bringing a faction into play except for differences outlined in the card.
After a faction is successfully played at a site, the site card is tapped.
If "played at a site" does not mean "a character at a site successfully brought a faction into play," then the phrase is meaningless and sites will never tap upon the play of a faction.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1640
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Old Road and Minor Item

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:58 pm

Bandobras Took wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:49 pm
If "played at a site" does not mean "a character at a site successfully brought a faction into play," then the phrase is meaningless and sites will never tap upon the play of a faction.
It is not meaningless. It is just not always a case that a character is at the same site, where a faction normally can be played. Attempt made by character at site does not always mean that the attempt takes place at site.

Some hint (the thing to consider), but of course not evidence: unless a faction card states otherwise, or attempt is made against an opponent's faction, an influence attempt requires an untapped site. Old Road, Hour of Need, and Röac the Raven do not have a such requirement. If to demand a tapping a site after successful attempt (not against an opponent's faction, or faction that states otherwise) why consistently not to demand an untapped site for Old Road, and Hour of Need?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”