BALLOT ITEM # 39: Akhôrahil the Ringwraith {erratum}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the erratum described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

YES
52
96%
NO
2
4%
 
Total votes: 54

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

BALLOT ITEM # 39: Akhôrahil the Ringwraith {erratum}

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Mon May 28, 2018 8:36 pm

INFORMATION
Akhôrahil the Ringwraith: Ringwraith Character
Unique. Manifestation of Akhôrahil. Can use sorcery, sprit-magic, and shadow-magic. +3 direct influence in Heralded Lord mode. +1 prowess in Fell Rider mode. As your Ringwraith, when he uses a magic card, return it to the play deck and reshuffle.
Not all magic cards are resource short-events, which are used and subsequently discarded. Some are permanent-events, like Well Preserved and Freeze the Flesh. In the current situation these must be returned to the play deck immediately after Akhôrahil has used them. For even if these cards do not target Akhôrahil, if he is the intended user of the magic resource, according to his ability they should be shuffled into the play deck, thus nullifying their lasting effects on the target.

BALLOT ITEM # 39:
Are you in favor of issuing the following erratum?

AKHÔRAHIL THE RINGWRAITH
Change This:
Unique. Manifestation of Akhôrahil. Can use sorcery, sprit-magic, and shadow-magic. +3 direct influence in Heralded Lord mode. +1 prowess in Fell Rider mode. As your Ringwraith, when he uses a magic card, return it to the play deck and reshuffle.
To This:
Unique. Manifestation of Akhôrahil. Can use sorcery, sprit-magic, and shadow-magic. +3 direct influence in Heralded Lord mode. +1 prowess in Fell Rider mode. As your Ringwraith, when a magic card used by him has to be discarded, return it to the play deck and reshuffle.
(relevant part bolded)


CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then magic cards used by Akhôrahil are only shuffled into the play deck upon their discarding from play, allowing them to maintain their ongoing effect on a target (if any).

If you vote NO, then this card will remain unchanged. Presumably magic permanent-event resources used by Akhôrahil will not have a lasting effect on their target, but this will be up to each playgroup and tournament judge to decide.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
The magic permanent-events have mostly negative effects on their targets, as both reduce the target's body. This can be beneficial or not, for either the resource player or the opponent, depending on the situation. In any case it does go against the nature of permanent-events to immediately remove them from the game upon resolution.

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3295
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”