It is not clear when exactly the beginning of a phase/turn ends and when exactly the end of a phase/turn begins and ends.
Therefore it is unclear when exactly actions that may be taken only at (or are triggered by) the beginning/end of a phase/turn may be (or are) declared. The following proposal for a definition would take care of this issue.
BALLOT ITEM # 27:
Are you in favor of issuing the following rules clarification?
BEGINNING / END OF PHASE & TURN
ABP: Actions that may be taken at (or are triggered by) the beginning of a given phase or turn only.
AEP: Actions that may be taken at (or are triggered by) the end of a given phase or turn only.
Beginning of a phase/turn:
This period begins at the start of a phase/turn and ends when all players announce that they will not declare any ABP starting a chain of effects and when all triggered ABP are resolved.
The only actions that may be declared in response to ABP are other ABP and actions that target a dice-rolling action and actions that target declared events.
Triggered ABP are declared before ABP that may be taken by players.
End of a phase/turn:
This period begins when all players announce that they will not declare any actions other than AEP starting a chain of effects and when all declared actions other than AEP are resolved.
This period ends when all players announce that they will not declare any actions and when all declared actions are resolved.
The only actions that may be declared in response to AEP are other AEP and actions that target a dice-rolling action and actions that target declared events.
Triggered AEP are declared before AEP that may be taken by players.
CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then you agree with the proposed regulation of an unclear rules situation.
If you vote NO, then the current unclear rules situation will remain unchanged.
CRF wrote:End-of-Turn Phase
End-of-turn effects are triggered by the ending of the End-of-Turn phase. Once both players are done with all actions in the End-of-Turn phase, all End-of-Turn effects are declared and resolved in the order chosen by the current player. No further actions may be declared that turn.
Examples:CRF wrote:End (at the end of...)
When an action specifies it must be taken at the end of a phase no actions may be taken after it in that phase that do not also specify that they must be taken at the end of said phase.
At the beginning of the end-of-turn phase a player taps Wizard's Staff* ("Tap bearer at the beginning of your end-of-turn phase to ...") (ABP). In response other ABP may be declared or actions that target a corruption check.
Hazard player passes. Resource player declares New Friendship (possible because it targets a corruption check). Hazard player declares Blind to the West (on declared New Friendship).
At the end of turn there are in play: Covetous Thoughts** ("At the end of each of his turns, target minion makes a corruption check ..."), The Nazgul Are Abroad*** ("If Doors of Night is in play, at the end of each turn, each player may ..."), Doors of Night, and From the Pits of Angband**** ("At the end of each turn, each player may take ...").
The corruption check from Covetous Thoughts is declared first. Players may declare in response actions that target the corruption check, or declare returning a Nazgul, or unique Dragon manifestation, or Drake. The latter actions may also be declared after the chain of effects, that was started by the corruption check from Covetous Thoughts, is resolved.
*Wizard's Staff wrote:Hoard item. Weapon. Only a Wizard may bear this item. +2 to direct influence, and +2 to prowess. +2 to any corruption check required by a spell card. Tap bearer at the beginning of your end-of-turn phase to take one "spell," "ritual," or "light enchantment" from your discard pile into your hand. Bearer makes a corruption check. Cannot be duplicated on a given Wizard.
**Covetous Thoughts wrote:Corruption. Playable only on a minion. At the end of each of his turns, target minion makes a corruption check for each item his company bears that he does not bear. For each check, modify the roll by subtracting the corruption of that item. During his organization phase, the minion may tap to attempt to remove this card by making a roll (drawing a #)-if the result is greater than 5, discard this card. Cannot be duplicated on a given minion.
***The Nazgûl are Abroad wrote:Nazgûl may attack the company containing the bearer of The One Ring at any site that is not a Free-hold [F] or Haven [H]. Nazgûl may attack any company possessing any Ring in a Shadow-land [s] or Shadow-hold [S]. If Doors of Night is in play, at the end of each turn, each player may return one Nazgûl permanent-event from his discard pile to his hand. Cannot be duplicated.
****From the Pits of Angband wrote:At the end of each turn, each player may take one unique Dragon manifestation or one Drake hazard creature from his discard pile and shufle it into his play deck. Alternatively, if Doors of Night is in play, at the end of each turn, each player may return one unique Dragon manifestation and/or one Drake hazard creature from his discard pile to his hand. Cannot be duplicated.
REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3339