Ballot Item # 21 - Fortress of the Towers {erratum}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the erratum described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

YES
51
96%
NO
2
4%
 
Total votes: 53

Jose-san
Council Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Ballot Item # 21 - Fortress of the Towers {erratum}

Post by Jose-san » Thu May 17, 2018 9:24 am

INFORMATION
CRF Rulings by Term wrote:A permanent-event played on a site affects only the copy of the site it is played on, unless otherwise specified. A permanent-event not played on a site affects all versions of affected sites.
The phrase "are not playable at the site" in the card text of Fortress of the Towers has two problems:
- it affects only the copy of the site on which it is played, breaking a sense of restriction imposed on opponents,
- it introduces a strange concept of "playability per player" (usually resources remain playable at a site even if they cannot be played at the site by anyone).
The original intent of the card without doubt is to prevent opponent from playing cards that give marshalling points at his version of such a protected Wizardhaven. As it stands Fortress of the Towers only affects the playability of cards that give marshalling points and does not prevent opponent from playing cards that give marshalling points at his copy of the site.

BALLOT ITEM # 21:
Are you in favor of issuing the following erratum?

FORTRESS OF THE TOWERS
Change This:
Fortress of the Towers wrote:Unique. May not be a starting stage card. Playable if you are Alatar, Pallando, or Saruman. Playable on the White Towers. The White Towers is protected. Other Fallen-wizards may not use the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] card for The White Towers. Cards that give marshalling points are not playable at the site by your opponent in all cases. A company moving to or from The White Towers is not considered to be moving through Arthedain (including one less Wilderness in their site path). Discard this card when the site is discarded or returned to its location deck.
CRF, Errata (Cards), Fortress of the Towers wrote:Card Erratum: Remove "A company moving to or from The White Towers is not considered to be moving through Arthedain (including one less Wilderness in their site path.)"
To This:
Fortress of the Towers wrote:Unique. May not be a starting stage card. Playable if you are Alatar, Pallando, or Saruman. Playable on the White Towers. The White Towers is protected. Other Fallen-wizards may not use the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] card for The White Towers. Cards that give marshalling points cannot be played at The White Towers by your opponent in all cases. Discard this card when the site is discarded or returned to its location deck.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then Fortress of the Towers will stop opponents from playing marshalling point cards on their copy of The White Towers.

If you vote NO, then Fortress of the Towers will remain unchanged. It will be up to each playgroup and tournament judge to decide if opponents can play marshalling point cards on their copy of The White Towers.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
Besides the consequences described above the proposed erratum applies the current CRF entry on Fortress of the Towers.

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3291

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”