Ballot Item # 20 - The Fortress of Isen {erratum}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Are you in favor of issuing the erratum described below?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

YES
49
96%
NO
2
4%
 
Total votes: 51

Jose-san
Council Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Ballot Item # 20 - The Fortress of Isen {erratum}

Post by Jose-san » Thu May 17, 2018 9:24 am

INFORMATION
CRF Rulings by Term wrote:A permanent-event played on a site affects only the copy of the site it is played on, unless otherwise specified. A permanent-event not played on a site affects all versions of affected sites.
The phrase "are not playable at the site" in the card text of The Fortress of Isen has two problems:
- it affects only the copy of the site on which it is played, breaking a sense of restriction imposed on opponents,
- it introduces a strange concept of "playability per player" (usually resources remain playable at a site even if they cannot be played at the site by anyone).
The original intent of the card without doubt is to prevent opponent from playing cards that give marshalling points at his version of such a protected Wizardhaven. As it stands The Fortress of Isen only affects the playability of cards that give marshalling points and does not prevent opponent from playing cards that give marshalling points at his copy of the site.

BALLOT ITEM # 20:
Are you in favor of issuing the following erratum?

THE FORTRESS OF ISEN
Change This:
The Fortress of Isen wrote:Unique. May not be a starting stage card. Playable if you are Alatar, Pallando, or Saruman. Playable on Isengard. Isengard is protected. Other Fallen-wizards may not use the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] card for Isengard. Cards that give marshalling points are not playable at the site by your opponent in all cases. A company moving to or from Isengard is not considered to be moving through Gap of Isen (including one less Border-land in their site path). Discard this card when the site is discarded or returned to its location deck.
CRF, Errata (Cards), The Fortress of Isen wrote:Card Erratum: Remove "A company moving to or from Isengard is not considered to be moving through Gap of Isen (including one less Borderland in their site path.)"
To This:
The Fortress of Isen wrote:Unique. May not be a starting stage card. Playable if you are Alatar, Pallando, or Saruman. Playable on Isengard. Isengard is protected. Other Fallen-wizards may not use the Wizardhaven [ [-me_ha-] ] card for Isengard. Cards that give marshalling points cannot be played at Isengard by your opponent in all cases. Discard this card when the site is discarded or returned to its location deck.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote YES, then The Fortress of Isen will stop opponents from playing marshalling point cards on their copy of Isengard.

If you vote NO, then The Fortress of Isen will remain unchanged. It will be up to each playgroup and tournament judge to decide if opponents can play marshalling point cards on their copy of Isengard.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
Besides the consequences described above the proposed erratum applies the current CRF entry on The Fortress of Isen.

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3294

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”