Ballot Item # 15 - When a Company is At a Site {rules clarification}

Cast your votes here for the 2018 Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply

Which of the following are you in favor of?

Poll ended at Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:01 am

Option A: A moving company is at a site at the end of its movement/hazard phase.
25
50%
Option B: A moving company is not at a site until the site phase.
25
50%
 
Total votes: 50

Jose-san
Council Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Ballot Item # 15 - When a Company is At a Site {rules clarification}

Post by Jose-san » Thu May 17, 2018 8:59 am

INFORMATION
The current interpretation is that moving companies aren't at a site until the site phase, which is unintuitive because it happens that companies with a single face-up site beside them are not at that site yet, and because it happens that a moving company is not at its destiny site until another non-moving company ended its movement/hazard phase.
MELE Rulebook wrote:Clarification: To summarize the movement process:
· Except for a moving company during its movement/hazard phase, each company is always at a specific site, called its current site.
· A company wanting to move to a new site plays a new site card face down beside its current site card by the end of its organization phase. A company can only move: from a non-Darkhaven site to its "Nearest Darkhaven," from a Darkhaven site to one of its two "adjacent Darkhavens," or from a Darkhaven site to a non-Darkhaven site that lists that Darkhaven as its "Nearest Darkhaven."
· At the beginning of its movement/hazard phase, a moving company's new site card is revealed and its current site card becomes its site of origin.
· At the end of its movement/hazard phase, the site of origin is removed and the moving company's new site card becomes the company's current site card (unless the company is forced to return to its site of origin).
This is quite clear. According to the MELE Rulebook, a company is always at a site except when it's moving during its movement/hazard phase.
CRF wrote:Annotation 25: A company is considered to be at the site given by its site card at all times except from the moment their new site card is revealed during their movement/hazard phase until their old site card is discarded during the same movement/hazard phase. During this period a company is considered to be en route between sites and not at any site.
Removing the site of origin and resetting to hand size are simultaneous actions, and they are the last actions in any movement/hazard phase. This means a moving company is not at a site until the site phase
The first underlined sentence is in line with the MELE Rulebook, but the second one contradicts all the previous sentences. Also, there is nothing in the previous sentences that "means" that a moving company is not at a site until the site phase.
MEBA Rules Summary wrote:Once all of your companies have resolved their movement/hazard phases, any two of your companies at the same non-Haven/non-Darkhaven site combine (companies at Havens/Darkhavens may combine if they wish). Your companies are now considered to be at their new site (that is, the new site becomes its current site).
The MEBA Rulebook contradicts both the MELE Rulebook and the CRF.

It's unclear which rulebook is right (and it's unclear whether the MEBA Rules Summary is a proper rulebook), and the CRF contradicts itself.

BALLOT ITEM # 15:
Which do you prefer? Pick one.

WHEN A COMPANY IS AT A SITE
Option A:
A moving company is at a site at the end of its movement/hazard phase.
Option B:
A moving company is not at a site until the site phase.

CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR VOTE:
If you vote OPTION A, then a company is always at a site except while it's moving (during its own movement/hazard phase).

If you vote OPTION B, then a company is always at a site except between the time it starts moving (during its own movement/hazard phase) and the start of the site phase (when all companies ended their movement/hazard phases).

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
In the majority of tournaments and organized events, the Option B interpretation has been upheld. If Option A is voted in, it would mean a significant change in tournament play (as in playing A Chance Meeting or We Have Come to Kill during the movement/hazard phase of a company on another company that has already moved).

REFERENCE TOPICS: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2955 and viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3348

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote”