Ringlore

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2018 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:54 am

I propose the following erratum be issued:

Change:
RINGLORE ‐ Short‐event (U)
Sage only, only playable at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and the site. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may replace the Gold Ring with any ring from his hand (except for The One Ring). Playable only during site phase. Tap the sage and the site. (E)
To:
RINGLORE ‐ Short‐event (U)
Sage only, only playable at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and the site. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring). Playable only during site phase. Tap the sage and the site. (E)

The original wording leaves some room for doubt as to how exactly the replace mechanism works. This erratum would allow a ring to be played from Rumours of Rings, which is consistent with other cards which test Gold Rings (they also allow this).

Reference thread: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3306

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Wed May 23, 2018 8:12 pm

Here is the current version language of Ringlore with CRF erratum:
Sage only, only playable at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may replace the Gold Ring with any ring from his hand (except for The One Ring). Playable only during site phase. Tap the sage and the site. (E)

Here is my latest recommended version:
Sage only - playable only at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and the site. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).
- I moved the CRF erratum into the middle of the text where it seems more appropriate as a condition of the card.
- This allows the use of rings to be played from Rumours of Rings (like other gold ring tests).
- It clarifies the "replacing" mechanism and how it works so there is no confusion that the Gold Ring must be discarded.
- It allows the card to mechanically work correctly (please correct me if I'm mistaken).

Thoughts? Thank you!

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed May 23, 2018 8:51 pm

Is "Tap the sage and the site" a condition or is it a main effect?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Council Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Shapeshifter » Wed May 23, 2018 9:03 pm

The 2nd "playable only" seems redundant to me. What about "Sage only - playable only during the site phase at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable"?

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 8:51 pm
Is "Tap the sage and the site" a condition or is it a main effect?
I intend for it to be a condition. Is that okay?

If it was a main effect, would you be able to play the card if the sage or the site was already tapped? That is not the intent. Both must be untapped when the card is played.

Thanks
Shapeshifter wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 9:03 pm
The 2nd "playable only" seems redundant to me. What about "Sage only - playable only during the site phase at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable"?
Yes, I like your suggestion better. Thanks.

Amended proposal:
Sage only - playable only during the site phase at a site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Tap the sage and the site. Play to test a Gold Ring. No roll (or draw) is used. The player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed May 23, 2018 11:53 pm

the Jabberwock wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 pm
Both must be untapped when the card is played.
And this could be a condition (now it is a precondition).
Tapping a site a condition is a thing without precedence AFIK.
It is possible at all, but it also makes some problem. In such case On Guard card cannot not revealed in response to playing Ringlore. Ringlore cannot potentially tap a site. At the moment when Ringlore is declared, the site is already tapped.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Thu May 24, 2018 12:47 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:53 pm
And this could be a condition (now it is a precondition).
Tapping a site a condition is a thing without precedence AFIK.
It is possible at all, but it also makes some problem. In such case On Guard card cannot not revealed in response to playing Ringlore. Ringlore cannot potentially tap a site. At the moment when Ringlore is declared, the site is already tapped.
Ok, do you have language you might suggest that would be better?

The important thing is that you are not allowed to play Ringlore if you do not both tap a sage and tap a site.

The other important thing is that the card mechanically functions correctly (unlike Far-Sight).

If "Tap the sage and the site" is a main effect instead of a condition, how does that change the practical play and use of this card? Would you then be able to play Ringlore if your sage and/or site was already tapped?

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Ringlore

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu May 24, 2018 2:20 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:53 pm
the Jabberwock wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 pm
Both must be untapped when the card is played.
And this could be a condition (now it is a precondition).
Tapping a site a condition is a thing without precedence AFIK.
It is possible at all, but it also makes some problem. In such case On Guard card cannot not revealed in response to playing Ringlore. Ringlore cannot potentially tap a site. At the moment when Ringlore is declared, the site is already tapped.
Unless we're Balrog Summary Ruling. :)
The company plays a card that potentially would tap an untapped site.
Tapped state of the site makes no difference.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu May 24, 2018 10:35 am

the Jabberwock wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 12:47 am
Ok, do you have language you might suggest that would be better?

The important thing is that you are not allowed to play Ringlore if you do not both tap a sage and tap a site.

The other important thing is that the card mechanically functions correctly (unlike Far-Sight).

If "Tap the sage and the site" is a main effect instead of a condition, how does that change the practical play and use of this card? Would you then be able to play Ringlore if your sage and/or site was already tapped?
If untapped sage and site are conditions then no.
Proposed change:
Sage only - playable only during the site phase if a sage is untapped at untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Tap the sage and the site. Test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).
I have also replaced "Play to test a Gold Ring." with "Test the Gold Ring", The should indicate that this is the same Gold Ring mentioned earlier in text, not other Gold Ring. I have also replaced some dots with commas, to remove the illusion that "test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring)." are three consecutive steps, not one operation.

@Bandobras Took:
With or without Balrog Summary Ruling, a card that has condition (but not effect) that a site is tapped, when declared has on potential to tap the site.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2618
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Ringlore

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu May 24, 2018 3:06 pm

I think I see where you're coming from, but I also don't think that they meant "play" in the sense of "declare and resolve."
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu May 24, 2018 5:52 pm

Whatever they mean, nothing may be declared in response to action A, until declaration of action A is completed.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Thu May 24, 2018 8:23 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:35 am
Proposed change:
Sage only - playable only during the site phase if a sage is untapped at untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Tap the sage and the site. Test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).
I have also replaced "Play to test a Gold Ring." with "Test the Gold Ring", The should indicate that this is the same Gold Ring mentioned earlier in text, not other Gold Ring. I have also replaced some dots with commas, to remove the illusion that "test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring)." are three consecutive steps, not one operation.
Thank you for the recommended change and explanation!

Would you please tell me (in detail) what makes your proposed change mechanically work correctly whereas Far-Sight does not mechanically work correctly?
FAR‐SIGHT ‐ Short‐event (C)
Sage only during the site phase at an untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable. Tap the sage and the site to search through
your play deck and choose an item that you must reveal to your opponent. This item is placed in your hand and the play deck is
reshuffled. The sage makes a corruption check.
Is it because your Ringlore text says "Tap the sage and the site." (period, end of sentence)
And because Far-Sight text says "Tap the sage and the site to search....."

A specific explanation that explains the difference between the conflict of declaring and resolving Far-Sight and its associated problems with that of Ringlore, would be appreciated!

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Ringlore

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu May 24, 2018 8:58 pm

I did not say that Far-Sight does not mechanically work correctly.
I did say that Far-Sight works in needlessly complicated way.

Conditions of Far-Sight are 'an untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable' and sage.
When Far-Sight resolves then a nested chain of effects is created:
"search through your play deck and choose an item that you must reveal to your opponent." is declared an condition of the action (fulfilled at its declaration) is "Tap the sage and the site".
When the nested chain is resolved and completed, execution of remaining actions of Far-Sight continues.

If instead "Tap the sage and the site to search" the text would be "Tap the sage and the site and search" there would not be the nested chain of effects and net result of the card would be the same.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Ringlore

Post by the Jabberwock » Sun May 27, 2018 5:52 am

@ Konrad -

Thank you for your help and insight.

I like your proposed version, I only made one very small change which is slightly more correct written English: added the word "an"....

Changed:
Sage only - playable only during the site phase if a sage is untapped at untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Tap the sage and the site. Test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).
To:
Sage only - playable only during the site phase if a sage is untapped at an untapped site where ʺInformationʺ is playable, and only if a character in his company has a Gold Ring. Tap the sage and the site. Test the Gold Ring, no roll (or draw) is used, the player may discard the Gold Ring and play any ring to replace it (except for The One Ring).

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”