Balrog of Moria, Forewarned and Under-gates

The place where the NetRep and the rules wizards discuss upcoming rulings
Locked
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Council Member
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Balrog of Moria, Forewarned and Under-gates

Post by Shapeshifter » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:37 am

Bold prints are mine.
The Under-gates [H] wrote:Adjacent Sites: Moria (0), The Gem-deeps (6), The Sulfur-deeps (5), the Under-grottos (8), The Under-leas (6) Playable: Items (minor, major, greater, gold ring) Automatic-attacks (2): Balrog (1st attack)-2 strikes with 16 prowess (2nd attack)-Opponent may play as an automatic-attack one non-unique hazard creature from his hand normally keyed to Ruins & Lairs [R] Special: If Balrog of Moria is in play or if it or Durin's Bane has been defeated, the first automatic attack is canceled.
Forewarned is Forearmed wrote:Any non-Dragon Lair site with more than one automatic-attack is reduced to having one automatic-attack of the hazard player's choice (this attack cannot be canceled). Any creature or other hazard with more than one attack is reduced to one attack of the hazard player's choice (this attack cannot be canceled). Discard when such an isolated attack is defeated. Cannot be duplicated.
Following scenario: The Balrog of Moria (as permanent event) was played and the created 2nd auto-attack defeated by a company in Moria. Now the company enters the Under-gates and Forewarned is in play. The attacker chooses the 1st auto-attack. 1st auto-attack resolves and should be canceled but cannot because of Forwarned. This leads to the absurd situation where the Balrog attacks despite being already in the MP-pile or out of play.

I hope my interpretation of how this thing works out is wrong :|

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2002
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Balrog of Moria, Forewarned and Under-gates

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:36 pm

It is merciless fact that 1st AA is canceled, not removed (and its copy, created by Tidings of Bold Spies, as not AA is not affected at all).

EDIT:
To be more precise: copy created by Tidings of Bold Spies is not affected by "Special: If Balrog of Moria is in play or if it or Durin's Bane has been defeated, the first automatic attack is canceled." as that being canceled is not ability of attack. It is of course affacted by Forewarned is Forearmed's effect "(this attack cannot be canceled)".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

miguel
Posts: 659
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Re: Balrog of Moria, Forewarned and Under-gates

Post by miguel » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:15 am

Yeah this is just another case of the game's emulation of life in Middle-earth failing a bit.

Locked

Return to “Rules and Rulings - NetRep Discussion Forum”