CRF wrote:Annotation 25: A company is considered to be at the site given by its site card at all
times except from the moment their new site card is revealed during their movement/
hazard phase until their old site card is discarded during the same movement/hazard
phase. During this period a company is considered to be en-route between sites and
not at any site.
CRF lies. Choose first, or choose second.CRF wrote:Removing the site of origin and resetting to hand size are simultaneous actions, and
they are the last actions in any movement/hazard phase. This means a moving
company is not at a site until the site phase. [effective 11/17/97]
Whether company that has completed its M/H phases may be returned to its site of origin [SOR] (by discarding of Baduila or by other action), or not, depends in first place on fact that the company actually has, or does on have SOR.
So let look on some consequences of having, or not having a SOR by such company.
Company A (with Orc) is at Bree. Company B (with Elf) is at Framsburg.
Company A moves to Framsburg successfully.
Then company A moves to Minas Tirith and is returned to site of origin - Framsburg - by Snowstorm.
Company B stays.
Set aside problem "when exactly companies must/may join - at the start of site phase, or at the end of all M/H phases?".
Company A must be returned to its SOR, but which site is its SOR? It was returned to the SOR by Snowstorm.CRF wrote:Companies at the same non-Haven/non-Darkhaven site must join at the end of all
movement/hazard phases, before the site phase starts. Companies at the same Haven/
Darkhaven site may join at this time.
If companies would join at the end of the movement/hazard phase such that the
company composition rules are violated, one company of the hazard player's choice
must return to its site of origin.
It would returned to nowhere (discard pile?), or eventually to Bree.
If returning to Bree would be possible then the SOR mentioned in above rule is SOR that company had, not the SOR that company actually has.
But maybe returning to Bree should not be possible, company A has actual site of origin that is Framsburg and moreover Bree would be occupied by company C (with Dwarf).
So a company that has moved retains its SOR and new site status that are attributes characteristic for moving company.
What about its site path? If it has one and it contains what if Snowstorm will come to play in M/H phase of other company?
However maybe such company does not have its former path, but only SOR and new site.
What if such company moves to/from under-deeps and The Way is Shut comes to play in M/H phase of other company?
Because the game is full of abstractional concepts I think that there is solution, that does not require revolution.
"A company that moved in M/H phase is not considered as being at any site and is not considered as a moving company until end of all M/H phases"
"A company that moved in M/H phase is not considered as being at any site and is not considered as a moving company until site phase"
Choose first, or choose second.
Unless there are better choices I have question. What is a sense of retaining actual (not historical) status of SOR and new site by not moving company?
Only use that comes to my mind is using Baduila against such company. But it is considered a problem to the such extent that blocking a whole class of otherwise legal actions is considered to avoid it.
At the end some words about "Baduila problem": assuming pesimistically that Baduila may be discarded against companies that had moved, what are a consequences?
Target company has exactly the same possibilities of reaction like moving company. As far I know tapping a ranger with Piercing All Shadows, or with Promptings of Wisdom.