CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat, Attack wrote:Any effect that would change the number of strikes for an attack may not be played
after strikes are assigned. This includes cards that have other additional effects, and
cards that only indirectly change the number of strikes.
Scenario:Rank Upon Rank wrote:All non-agent Man attacks receive +1 prowess and +1 strikes. If Doors of Night is in play, all Giant attacks also receive these bonuses. Discard this card when such an affected attack (automatic, hazard creature, or otherwise) is defeated. Cannot be duplicated. ...rank upon rank...passing outwards in an endless stream.-LotRIV
There are a Giant attack with multiple strikes, and Gates of Morning, and Rank Upon Rank, and Daelomin At Home in play. Some strikes are resolved, some not and now is time between strike sequences.
Remaining Hazard Limit is 1.
Doors of Night would trigger passive condition for action "+1 to prowess, +1 strikes for Giant attack". This would indirectly change number of strikes, so playing a DoN is forbidden.
However a playing of Peril Returned is ok (with GoM it does not create an effect of DoN in play). Playing a Twilight on Gates of Morning is legal too.
Each card separately does not cause forbidden effect, but combo of them does so.
Analysing a chain of effects at declaration stage to determine its net effect and validity of next declaration.
At first glance it may work.
But it is not know how ultimately coe will resolve at least until least action is declared. Results of resolving checks may change picture too.
For example in response to Peril Returned a Deeper Shadow may be played that will reduce HL to 0 (Peril will not resolve). Now Twilight on GoM is OK. But now resource player declares Hundreds of Butterflies, that will increase HL to 2.
Forbid Hundreds of Butterflies?
Resource player may have another copy of Deeper Shadow at hand, that would make coe's net effect legal again. Hazard player would then discard Daelomin At Home etc. (still possible two copies of Many Turn And Doublings, or Marvels Told [on Rank Upon Rank], or Balance Between The Powers).
If a separate card will not cause an effect of direct or indirect changing a number of strikes when strikes are already assigned, it may be played (if it is otherwise legal).
However if it would create such effect due to different conditions in play at its resolution, it cannot resolve.
That is proposed ruling.