Minion Items with Armory

The place where the NetRep and the rules wizards discuss upcoming rulings
Locked
miguel
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Minion Items with Armory

Post by miguel » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:41 pm

Can you put minion minor items under Armory? Does armory gain MP from them? For FW and for Hero?
Armory wrote:Only you and your companies can use Armory. You may place any minor items from your hand under Armory during your organization phase. A character at a Haven can store a minor item under Armory instead of to your marshalling point pile. When you otherwise would be allowed to play a minor item from your hand at a Border-hold, Free-hold, or Haven, you may play an item from under Armory instead. If you have at least three minor items under Armory, gain 1 marshalling point.

marcos
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Re: Minion Items with Armory

Post by marcos » Fri Apr 27, 2012 1:41 pm

MELE rules, Deck Construction wrote:Only Ringwraith players may include minion characters, resources, and sites in their decks, while only Wizard players may include hero characters, resources, and sites in their decks.
However, there is an exception o this: a Ringwraith player may use any hero item resource card as if it were a minion item resource card. Similarly, a Wizard player may use any minion item resource card as if it were a hero item resource card. The following apply:
· All normal requirements must be met to play the item.
· All restrictions to movement still apply.
· All bonuses and special abilities are ignored.
· The item is only worth half (round up) of its normal marshalling points.
· The hero version of a unique item is a manifestation of the same minion version of the item and vice versa.
as a hero yes, i don't see why not. As a FW i'm not sure wether it targets/affect the items or the items target/affect the armory...
MEWH rules, TARGETING SITE AND RESOURCE CARDS wrote:A hero resource card may not target/affect a minion site card or a minion resource card. A minion resource card may not target/affect a hero site card or a hero resource card.

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: Minion Items with Armory

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:14 pm

As a Fallen-wizard, no. As a Hero player you can, but they will not help to gain the marshalling point from Armory.
As I understand the rule: "hero(minion) resource event may not target/affect minion(hero) resource, or site" only applies to FW player.

If so the whole thing is simple.

A company moving through certain regions is passive condition for action from Dragon Ahunt but it is not condition for Dragon Ahunt itself.
Storing of Rescue Prisoners is condition for achieving MP from this card but is not condition for the card itself.
Playing a card worth 3MP for its player is not condition for A More Evil Hour itself, only for tapping the card.

Thats all.
CRF, Rulings by Term, MELE v. METW wrote:Hero items may not be used as conditions for minion resources, and minion items
may not be used as conditions for hero resources. Note that a Fallen-wizard may play
special ring items regardless of the alignment of the gold ring item tested.
So this rule says only about condition of playing resource (active condition), or it says about condition of any effect/action of resource that involves item.
In second case decreasing usability of A More Evil Hour, Armory, Into The Smoking Cone, Fate of The Ithil stone, Token of Goodwill.
Especially for A More Evil Hour the second option seems odd.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

miguel
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Re: Minion Items with Armory

Post by miguel » Sun May 13, 2012 11:06 am

Ok makes sense. Another good example is Stinker. Surely he is able to force the discard of opponent's hero One Ring...

So to re-visit the ruling:
Proposed Ruling wrote:Can you put minion minor items under Armory?
---------------------------------------------------
As a Fallen-wizard, no. As a Hero player you can, and they count towards gaining the Armory marshalling point.

marcos
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Re: Minion Items with Armory

Post by marcos » Sun May 13, 2012 4:27 pm

makes sense

miguel
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Re: Minion Items with Armory

Post by miguel » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:57 am

Published in digest #125. Locked.

Locked

Return to “Rules and Rulings - NetRep Discussion Forum”