Search found 1454 matches

by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:06 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 12
Views: 216

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

WHCtK obviously (somehow !?) checks the character you intend to play, and what rules it's subject to, even in terms of company composition, or one could use it to play a Dwarf with a company of Orcs. So if WHCtK checks all other boxes for the RW, and if we assume Van was not precise in his answer to...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:01 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 22
Views: 255

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

the Jabberwock: Here is what the MELE Player's Guide says about We Have Come to Kill: Perhaps you should have led with that :wink: . Could you also provide the page? I'm guessing it's not from the rules section but from the card entry section or strategy guide? Ok, so by clarifying ACM, saying it's...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:07 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a company is at a site
Replies: 16
Views: 280

Re: When a company is at a site

The Jabberwock: It makes no sense that a company that has already completed its m/h phase is not at a site. Frodo: It’s true that the arrival at a site during the site phase, rather than when one’s site disappears, is very unintuitive. Haven given this some thought, I do not agree, on the issue of ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:44 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 22
Views: 255

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

I'm regretting our choice for treating WHCtK and ACM as a package, actually. Of course they are similar, but not the same cards. Thank's to those elaborations from the METW Player Guide and Van's ruling we know how ICE intended ACM could be used. However, on the card itself these rules-restrictions ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:28 am
Forum: Worlds
Topic: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands
Replies: 4
Views: 326

Re: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands

Great! you should know there's a special rule, people who have won Worlds 3x or more get a -6 TP penalty in qualifiers :-) We'll probably round up sunday at 3 pm. From Heemskerk it's an hour trainride to Amsterdam Airport (4x per hour). But, since anybody coming by car will be passing Amsterdam Airp...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:15 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: The One Ring strike cancellation
Replies: 8
Views: 582

Re: The One Ring strike cancellation

Hmm, it doesn't alter the number of strikes nor their prowess, nor any other properties of the attack, so one is inclined to say no.

If only CRF would have read "or a strike of the attack"...
It might be better to change the rule than individual cards, then again, sometimes it might not be.
by Thorsten the Traveller
Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:07 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: The One Ring
Replies: 5
Views: 182

Re: The One Ring

As the Jabberwock said, there will be another opportunity to change The One Ring minion version next year. But if this one is voted down, to accept a proposal for MV will be less likely. The ROC will not bring the same items up for voting each year just to give it another try. Besides, if this propo...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:15 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Freeze the flesh
Replies: 8
Views: 243

Re: Freeze the flesh

Perhaps also it wasn't clear what exactly your concern was. Is it thematic, or mechanic? Basically you're saying a character can first be eliminated by bc and Freezed, while he can be corrupted and Freezed again later that turn? I suppose so, but it's a) far-fetched, b) now also possible, c) not the...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:57 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!
Replies: 19
Views: 287

Re: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!

Not that it is a justification in itself, but in current (tournament) practise people do play FFF and follow up with a Tidings of Bold Spies, a good combo especially with Whole Villages Roused or Awaken Defenders. But since combos are always tricky, the on-guard use is still more frequent. Moreover,...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:45 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!
Replies: 19
Views: 287

Re: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!

Both Searching Eye (revealed as On Guard) and FEAR! FIRE! FOES! (2nd effect) have target that does not exist in M/H phase. It does not have a target during m/h hazard phase in the existing version, but I assumed we agreed that was due to sloppy wording, not on purpose. In Shapeshifter's version it ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:01 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!
Replies: 19
Views: 287

Re: FEAR! FIRE! FOES!

However, the question is also, why add limitations if they are not strictly needed? So I prefer the erratum proposal to follow Shapeshifter's suggestion.

@ Konrad. Would it really need that on-guard clause though? Searching Eye does not affect the automatic-attack, this one does.
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu May 31, 2018 3:25 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Freeze the flesh
Replies: 16
Views: 583

Re: Freeze the flesh

or stuff along these lines. that includes adding MP pile in the reference, and a body check. MP pile and Out-of-play are direct pinpoints, so that works (same for NsANsP), but right now there's nothing. As we're discussing in the Out of Play proposal, the character could be back in your cardbinder....
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu May 31, 2018 3:18 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: The Fortress of Isen
Replies: 6
Views: 132

Re: The Fortress of Isen

thanks :wink:
seems I'm a bit overworked.
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu May 31, 2018 12:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Freeze the flesh
Replies: 16
Views: 583

Re: Freeze the flesh

Why is this card "playable on a character" in the first place? You need to get the card first from somewhere out of play. Should it not be "playable on a character in your out-of-play pile", or simply "playable if a character in the shadow-magic using character's company was eliminated this turn. Re...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu May 31, 2018 12:32 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: The Fortress of Isen
Replies: 6
Views: 132

Re: The Fortress of Isen

What about Guarded Haven?

Go to advanced search