Search found 1474 matches

by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Use of documents during official tournaments
Replies: 2
Views: 146

Re: Use of documents during official tournaments

a copy of Sun Tzu's The Art of War, perhaps? :-) Interesting question. Personally I see no problem with the items on your list, except for 1: if you start consulting a library while playing, an 80 (or 90) minute tournament game will only contain 2 turns. I don't think that knowing all the rules and ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:37 pm
Forum: Town Hall
Topic: Please give us your feedback - 2018 Annual Rules Vote
Replies: 6
Views: 342

Re: Please give us your feedback - 2018 Annual Rules Vote

Can you be more specific on what potential bias this solution implied? Do you mean to say that the mere fact there is a 35B suggests that most people will (and therefore should) vote YES on 35A? Perhaps. Still, I have faith in the autonomous mind of the voters. And more importantly, would you not ag...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:30 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 340

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

Hmm, interesting points, pity I missed that discussion at the time, why did you not bring the suggested change to annotation #9 up for the ARV? Yes DU allows Dwar's company to move using region movement to any Dark-haven (within reach), the ICE rule did not foresee that. Nevertheless, it was a matte...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:12 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 340

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

Konrad wrote: The rule indicates that "may move to a non-Darkhaven site" in texts of mode cards, and " in order to move from a Darkhaven to a non-Darkhaven site, a Ringwraith must have a special resource card" refer to an attempt to move, not to a movement process. why not to both? hence I said str...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:41 am
Forum: Worlds
Topic: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands
Replies: 10
Views: 553

Re: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands

Pics of what exactly? The meccg meet-up in Paris? Not sure there are any, we were playing games most of the time :wink: Sorry, many of us are oldschool geezers who do not feel the need to record everything or express themselves on social media to validate their existence. But involving people is alw...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:32 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a company is at a site
Replies: 22
Views: 389

Re: When a company is at a site

Yep, that was my quote. I introduced the Farmer Maggot example because it was the only instance I could think of where a company moves during the site phase. Konrad wrote: This may be deduced from Annotation 25: I disagree. There need not be a dualistic situation in which a company is either moving ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:35 pm
Forum: Worlds
Topic: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands
Replies: 10
Views: 553

Re: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands

Ah yes, I forgot, special rule, Fallen-Radagst decks are allowed, but only if you start the game with Galva and/or Arinmir :P Great, I intend to be there early friday, so it might be possible to pick you up. I was in Paris over the weekend with the meccg community there, and we kept 1 eye on the foo...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:23 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Smoke Rings & Weigh All Things to a Nicety
Replies: 20
Views: 390

Re: Smoke Rings & Weigh All Things to a Nicety

That is true, afaik option A (can't use Smoke Rings to pull minion resources/characters) is the current practice during larger tournaments.
by Thorsten the Traveller
Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:21 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a company is at a site
Replies: 22
Views: 389

Re: When a company is at a site

The Jabberwock wrote: Now all 3 of your companies must return to their sites of origin (because they are all technically still moving if they have not yet arrived at their sites at the end of each of their own M/H phases) That's not how it works. Snowstorm creates the passive condition which is che...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:05 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 340

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

CRF writes: Dwar Unleashed. Dwar must already be in a mode to use this card. this is incorrect? So you're saying the RW company that's not in a mode may, according to you, keep moving, but not start moving? (or as you say attempt to move?). Hmm, this interpretation is new, to my knowledge (in the c...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:06 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 340

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

WHCtK obviously (somehow !?) checks the character you intend to play, and what rules it's subject to, even in terms of company composition, or one could use it to play a Dwarf with a company of Orcs. So if WHCtK checks all other boxes for the RW, and if we assume Van was not precise in his answer to...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:01 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 25
Views: 377

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

the Jabberwock: Here is what the MELE Player's Guide says about We Have Come to Kill: Perhaps you should have led with that :wink: . Could you also provide the page? I'm guessing it's not from the rules section but from the card entry section or strategy guide? Ok, so by clarifying ACM, saying it's...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:07 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a company is at a site
Replies: 22
Views: 389

Re: When a company is at a site

The Jabberwock: It makes no sense that a company that has already completed its m/h phase is not at a site. Frodo: It’s true that the arrival at a site during the site phase, rather than when one’s site disappears, is very unintuitive. Haven given this some thought, I do not agree, on the issue of ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:44 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 25
Views: 377

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

I'm regretting our choice for treating WHCtK and ACM as a package, actually. Of course they are similar, but not the same cards. Thank's to those elaborations from the METW Player Guide and Van's ruling we know how ICE intended ACM could be used. However, on the card itself these rules-restrictions ...
by Thorsten the Traveller
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:28 am
Forum: Worlds
Topic: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands
Replies: 10
Views: 553

Re: Worlds 2018 in the Netherlands

Great! you should know there's a special rule, people who have won Worlds 3x or more get a -6 TP penalty in qualifiers :-) We'll probably round up sunday at 3 pm. From Heemskerk it's an hour trainride to Amsterdam Airport (4x per hour). But, since anybody coming by car will be passing Amsterdam Airp...

Go to advanced search