Search found 1955 matches

by Konrad Klar
Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:02 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 13
Views: 158

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

As rule of thumb we say card over rule, but then the card must be explicit. Here's it's not. Let's say ICE was not thinking it through. Text of the card must be explicit when the card overrides a rule or restriction of other card. A Chance Meeting allows to bring into play a character (even a Hobbi...
by Konrad Klar
Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:43 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Earcaraxe & Long Dark Reach
Replies: 7
Views: 137

Re: Earcaraxe & Long Dark Reach

"Playability in region" is not defined term. This may mean being keyed to region (by name), to region of given type, to a * region of given type, to site in a region of given type. *) attacks keyed to a given region type do not include attacks keyed to multiple instances of given region symbol. Anga...
by Konrad Klar
Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:10 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship
Replies: 15
Views: 859

Re: Great Ship

Is your reasoning that the effects from Akhôrahil, Dwar of Waw, Hoarmûrath, Ren, while having an opportunity to be canceled, aren't themselves the Nazgul event that caused the effect? An effects (or results) of events, are not themselves an events that cause the effects (or results) . Something can...
by Konrad Klar
Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:53 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: True Fána vs CvCC
Replies: 3
Views: 45

Re: True Fána vs CvCC

Lidless Eye, Using MELE with METW, Combat, Company vs. Company Combat wrote:Note: Cards that affect the number of strikes of an attack have no effect on company vs. company combat.
by Konrad Klar
Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:48 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Events Requiring Character to Tap After Combat
Replies: 5
Views: 42

Re: Events Requiring Character to Tap After Combat

Theo wrote:
Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:15 am
[...] and player's aren't normally allowed to interrupt the steps of resolution of a card (unless it generates an attack/strike or corruption check)?
A corruption check is not excuse to interrupting a resolution. It may be targeted in chain of effects in which it has been declared.
by Konrad Klar
Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:01 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship
Replies: 15
Views: 859

Re: Great Ship

Nothing in the card or errata makes me think it is possible for Praise to Elbereth to target not resolved events.
by Konrad Klar
Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:11 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Open to the Summons
Replies: 2
Views: 73

Re: Open to the Summons

I interpret "with a character that says he cannot be in a starting company" to be that phase is literally on the character card and not in the rules pertaining to agents as a whole. I interpret it in the same way (although currently there are no agents with text that says he cannot be in the starti...
by Konrad Klar
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:21 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship
Replies: 15
Views: 859

Re: Great Ship

Nazgûl events discarded by Praise to Elbereth have no effect. Which characters are tapping to discard which events must be declared when Praise to Elbereth is declared. Nazgûl permanent-events that are targeted by Praise to Elbereth may not be tapped in response to its play. Underline mine. Praise ...
by Konrad Klar
Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:57 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Dwarven Light-Stone - CvCC
Replies: 15
Views: 183

Re: Dwarven Light-Stone - CvCC

Likewise, combat is the resolution of the attack. They are not the same thing, because attacks can exist without combat (any site's automatic-attack). Automatic-attacks are objects that can attack. Likewise creatures are objects that can attack. Both are something different than an attack as activi...
by Konrad Klar
Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:11 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship
Replies: 15
Views: 859

Re: Great Ship

If the permanent-event targets the company, or hazard creating the attack targets company, then yes.
by Konrad Klar
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:57 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship
Replies: 15
Views: 859

Re: Great Ship

How about using Great Ship to cancel the effects of Adunaphel's short-event? The same for any hazard short-event. Great Ship's effect cannot target a merely declared cards (text of the card does not contain a clause that is in text of Twilight). If it comes to removing a hazard short-event's effect...
by Konrad Klar
Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:49 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Come at Need
Replies: 10
Views: 148

Re: Come at Need

Why would "place" = "play"? Why would the card not just say "play"? Maybe because that cards may be played later. Why Armory does not say that they are "placed off to the side" I do not know. But because they are not technically "placed off to the side" they may be affected by effects in play (e.g....
by Konrad Klar
Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:06 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Come at Need
Replies: 10
Views: 148

Re: Come at Need

No where is it stated that the ally is played, in play, or eliminated from play. Check again. Cards placed off to the side are in play for the purposes of uniqueness. Unless stated otherwise, when a host permanent-event is removed from the playing surface, any cards placed off to the side under it ...
by Konrad Klar
Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:43 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Come at Need
Replies: 10
Views: 148

Re: Come at Need

Although I don't see any immediate rules problems: the ally is set "off to the side", so is not in play to affect uniqueness rules. That is entirely wrong. A cards placed off to the side are in play for purposes of uniqueness (at least for the purposes, they are not affected by effects in play, but...
by Konrad Klar
Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:03 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: The One Ring strike cancellation
Replies: 8
Views: 562

Re: The One Ring strike cancellation

Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:15 am
It might be better to change the rule than individual cards, then again, sometimes it might not be.
And this is rather the second case.
Even if Annotation 15 would cover an affecting of strikes from attack, still there are strikes not from an attack (Cruel Caradhras, Dragon's Breath).

Go to advanced search