Search found 2559 matches

by Bandobras Took
Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:59 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Morgul-Rats On Guard
Replies: 15
Views: 410

Re: Morgul-Rats On Guard

The Balrog Summary p. 15 has the following: If the company is moving, you may key creatures to their new site, by name or type. In this case, I'm inclined to regard this as their intent rather than the sloppy writing so prevalent through most other portions of the Balrog turn summary. Without accept...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Agent attacks during site phase
Replies: 3
Views: 60

Re: Agent attacks during site phase

Yes, I think the intent is to indicate an order in case there are automatic-attacks.
by Bandobras Took
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:41 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice
Replies: 3
Views: 39

Re: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

I'm not sure those actions are declared as part of the same chain of effects. Bridge may be played at the end of the movement/hazard phase and won't be part of the same chain of effects as the CCs from Lure of Nature. The question here is who determines order. Here is ICE's rule for End-of-Turn effe...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 246

Re: Reluctant final parting question

My words may have been imprecise. If the number used for the modification cannot be calculated, then there cannot be a modification, because the modification requires a number. An "or" merely requires that one of its conditions actually be able to be checked. I think (again, for the purposes of the ...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:47 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Fallen Wizard not in play
Replies: 12
Views: 298

Re: Fallen Wizard not in play

I can't find a hole in the logic; this may need errata.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:43 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Discarding Stage Resources & Their Ripple Effects
Replies: 1
Views: 41

Re: Discarding Stage Resources & Their Ripple Effects

Discard this card when the site is discarded or returned to its location deck. It cannot be discarded otherwise.
Hidden Haven can't satisfy Echoes.

As for the first question, it's anybody's guess what "use" means in that rule. My own personal philosophy is here.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Glove of Radagast
Replies: 3
Views: 62

Re: Glove of Radagast

Any non-unique ally with 1 mind (a copy of which he does not already control) is considered playable with Radagast at his site. This ally may be taken from your discard pile or hand. Glove adds an alternate playability to an ally. You may play an ally using Glove or the ally's playability, but you ...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:43 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 246

Re: Reluctant final parting question

I'm arguing game logic. I'm saying for the purposes of the game, something that doesn't exist can't be used for comparison.

Obviously, there are logical arguments to be made, but those hold short weight a lot of times in this game. :)
by Bandobras Took
Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:23 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 246

Re: Reluctant final parting question

Rather, a non-existent value always fails to be equal to an existent value. I'm not certain that's the case for game purposes, at least. Reluctant Final Parting looks for the nearest haven of the ally's current site. If it can't find a value for that, then it can't compare at all to determine equal...
by Bandobras Took
Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:45 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 246

Re: Reluctant final parting question

Discard any ally if its current site is an Under-deeps site or if its current site's nearest Haven is not the same as the nearest Haven for the site at which the ally can be played. Under-deeps sites have no nearest haven. A non-existent value cannot be used for comparison. (Likewise, Seized By Ter...
by Bandobras Took
Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:36 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 75
Views: 979

Re: Old Road

Shapeshifter wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:56 pm
From my point of view both rulings should have been errata. Maybe ICE didn't have the time or forgot about turning those rulings into real errata.
Given their general imprecision with regards to rules and terminology in this game, it's likely they didn't understand the difference.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:01 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Lidless Eye questions
Replies: 9
Views: 390

Re: Lidless Eye questions

I can't remember where, but I believe I read that Urlurtsu Nurn's ability can only be used so long as at least one company moves away from the site.
by Bandobras Took
Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:36 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard
Replies: 2
Views: 81

Re: Webs of Fear and Treachery on guard

Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a characterÕs card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero. You may reveal a card in response to an influence attempt against a faction even if the on-gu...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:42 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Doors of Night - Effect vs Card
Replies: 35
Views: 521

Re: Doors of Night - Effect vs Card

That makes sense to me, yes.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Site phase sequence
Replies: 2
Views: 161

Re: Site phase sequence

As for the difference between the METW and MELE rules: Note: Unless stated otherwise, the Wizard player uses the METW rules and the Ringwraith player uses the MELE rules. Most elements of METW and MELE are identical - both of these series are part of the Middle-earth Collectible Card Game™ (MECCG™)....

Go to advanced search