Search found 2481 matches

by Bandobras Took
Thu May 24, 2018 3:06 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Ringlore
Replies: 12
Views: 87

Re: Ringlore

I think I see where you're coming from, but I also don't think that they meant "play" in the sense of "declare and resolve."
by Bandobras Took
Thu May 24, 2018 1:45 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Deep Mines
Replies: 14
Views: 210

Re: Deep Mines

Eventually, you do play characters, but only after you've gotten the right setup. I've only seen such a deck attempted a few times. I think marcos had one that was also wizardless and consisted of characters coming in directly at sites which were then immediately Hidden Havened, thus producing clog ...
by Bandobras Took
Thu May 24, 2018 2:20 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Ringlore
Replies: 12
Views: 87

Re: Ringlore

Both must be untapped when the card is played. And this could be a condition (now it is a precondition). Tapping a site a condition is a thing without precedence AFIK. It is possible at all, but it also makes some problem. In such case On Guard card cannot not revealed in response to playing Ringlo...
by Bandobras Took
Tue May 22, 2018 2:28 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

Thus, there is a precedent for Chance Meeting acting in a similar way, even if I still don't feel that to be healthiest for the game. You require Pledge of Conduct as a precedent? What about the direct quote from The Wizard's Player Guide made by ICE which I quoted in this thread: http://forum.coun...
by Bandobras Took
Mon May 21, 2018 10:51 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

I simply can't contest that the intent of Pledge of Conduct is to be played any time there is a corruption check, whether transferring is otherwise permissible by rule or not. Thus, there is a precedent for Chance Meeting acting in a similar way, even if I still don't feel that to be healthiest for ...
by Bandobras Took
Mon May 21, 2018 2:56 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: New to the game and have some questions.
Replies: 40
Views: 611

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

CRF, Turn Sequence Rulings, Beginning Of The Game:
Your starting hand is eight cards, regardless of what characters you have at particular sites.
by Bandobras Took
Mon May 21, 2018 1:52 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

I still can't understand point 1, but I acknowledge the validity of point 2. However, I've finally found what I consider a parallel card to standard interpretations of Chance Meeting. Pledge of Conduct. The rules for transferring items list the organization phase, but it is evident that Pledge of Co...
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 5:21 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

But now we're talking about immediate actions vs non-immediate; the discussion was about cards that create actions vs cards that do not. I see no logic that has A Chance Meeting enabling character play at any time its conditions are met that does not allow Open to the Summons to enable character pla...
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 5:06 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Anti-One Ring hazards
Replies: 8
Views: 89

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

Why not? As I understand it, this rule is merely descriptive. Good Sense Revolts needs to have the text "If the Agent is at the proper site," correct? Otherwise, it is not checking for the location of the agent.
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 2:54 pm
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

How is the difference between causing an action or not causing one determined, then? Discard is also available as the result of using a card for a random number. And the method is never defined in the rules. Methods for character play actually are defined in the rules. There is an End-of-Turn phase ...
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 2:52 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Anti-One Ring hazards
Replies: 8
Views: 89

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

@Konrad: That is a problem with the text and rules of MELE, but it has nothing to do with the question at hand. Influencing With an Agent During your opponent's movement/hazard phase, certain cards and special abilities allow your agents to attempt to influence allies, factions, followers, and chara...
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 11:24 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 31
Views: 293

Re: Old Road

Except that it is: the "Bringing Characters Into Play" section. There is a rulebook exception to this section in the form of character influence attempts, which have a number of other stipulations. Just not true. If there is a method for bringing characters into play outside of the organization/sit...
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 11:07 am
Forum: Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Deep Mines
Replies: 14
Views: 210

Re: Deep Mines

the Jabberwock wrote:
Sat May 19, 2018 8:33 pm
Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 8:42 am
@Jabberwock: he means that you start play without any characters on the table.
And there is an advantage to be realized by doing this?
Your opponent can't play hazards if you don't have a company; this causes clog.
by Bandobras Took
Sun May 20, 2018 11:05 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Anti-One Ring hazards
Replies: 8
Views: 89

Re: Anti-One Ring hazards

The game ends when one of the following occurs during play: If your Wizard is "eliminated" (i.e., through combat or corruption)-your opponent wins. If you move The One Ring to Mount Doom and play certain cards -The One Ring is destroyed and you win. Otherwise, the winner is decided at the Free Coun...
by Bandobras Took
Sat May 19, 2018 12:31 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent in multi-player game
Replies: 5
Views: 72

Re: Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent in multi-player game

My goodness me. Now I'm trying to work out if there's any possible advantage to putting one of your cards in your opponent's deck . . . :)

I would then say the pile and the hand of the person against whom you currently play hazards. Your "resource-opponent," as it were.

Go to advanced search