Search found 2527 matches

by Bandobras Took
Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?
Replies: 4
Views: 46

Re: Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?

I think that a character can be both hero and minion, but not at the same moment and not for the same purposes. That's what I've thought, too, but I'd be more comfortable with some statement from ICE somewhere that either explicitly or implicitly says a character controlled by a FW *can't* be both ...
by Bandobras Took
Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:51 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?
Replies: 4
Views: 46

Re: Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?

Now that I look at it, things are getting uglier: Hero: A character controlled by a Wizard player. Minion: A character controlled by a Ringwraith player. Going by these definitions, none of a FWs characters are minion. It's just that Orcs/Trolls fail to be hero. Of course, those definitions then go ...
by Bandobras Took
Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:36 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?
Replies: 4
Views: 46

Can A Character Be Both Hero And Minion?

MEDM includes minion cards-a new type of card with a new type of template-the background is iron with a "rusted" purple tint. (. . .) The concept of minions used in a non-agent fashion will be introduced in Middle-earth: The Lidless Eye. All of your non-Orc and non-Troll characters are considered t...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:01 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attack's Prowess in CvCC
Replies: 9
Views: 195

Re: Attack's Prowess in CvCC

@ Jabberwock: By that logic, automatic-attacks don't have a prowess, either -- they just consist of strikes with their own prowess. Which becomes even more odd when a creature is used as an automatic-attack. I think Old Thrush checks whether a given attack does have a listed prowess of thirteen, not...
by Bandobras Took
Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:55 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Prisoner cards
Replies: 8
Views: 255

Re: Prisoner cards

I hold that the card text as originally written is correct. The hazard is played on the attack allowing all of the strikes to capture a victim.
Playable on a character facing a Spider attack. If the strike is successful, target character is not harmed and is taken prisoner
by Bandobras Took
Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Theoretically Infinite Thralls
Replies: 9
Views: 295

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

Let's not be too limited; *ICE* in general lacked clarification. :)
by Bandobras Took
Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Theoretically Infinite Thralls
Replies: 9
Views: 295

Re: Theoretically Infinite Thralls

CRF, Discard wrote:Whenever a character is discarded, all non-follower cards played with that character are also discarded.
by Bandobras Took
Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:26 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Use of documents during official tournaments
Replies: 2
Views: 129

Re: Use of documents during official tournaments

Thorsten brings up the largest issue: the time it takes to consult references.

Like any other game, the fun grinds to a halt when a player doesn't keep the game moving.
by Bandobras Took
Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:20 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attack's Prowess in CvCC
Replies: 9
Views: 195

Re: Attack's Prowess in CvCC

In that case, I would see nothing preventing Old Thrush from being used.
by Bandobras Took
Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:25 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 319

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

Timing rules in general only work if you don't look at them too closely. ;)

There are more issues therein than just the cards Konrad's mentioned.
by Bandobras Took
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:26 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill
Replies: 25
Views: 335

Re: A Chance Meeting / We Have Come to Kill

Craig o'Brien was (I believe) the first NetRep ICE had for the game. As far as METW was concerned, his word was law.

Anybody with a better memory than I have, feel free to correct me. :)
by Bandobras Took
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:21 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Limited site use for FW companies?
Replies: 4
Views: 334

Re: Limited site use for FW companies?

So long as a site is not in the discard pile, being able to choose which version you go to can be profitable, depending on the deck (I had one which used Carambor to keep on visiting different versions of the Lossadan Cairn to play/store Palantiri and also play the Wolves).
by Bandobras Took
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:19 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Attack's Prowess in CvCC
Replies: 9
Views: 195

Re: Attack's Prowess in CvCC

CRF, The Old Thrush wrote:Cannot be used against agents, since none of them have a listed prowess of 13 or greater.
I believe the same applies to CvCC. It would seem that Old Thrush checks for the "normal" prowess of a given attack.
by Bandobras Took
Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:42 am
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers
Replies: 22
Views: 319

Re: We Have Come to Kill & Ringwraith Followers

You can always declare illegal movement. It's just that nothing happens and the company stays at the site. Eagle-mounts has its own problems. :) (Notably, that changing site type would indeed make the movement illegal, bouncing the company, and that the opponent may only key hazards to the company's...
by Bandobras Took
Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:02 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: When a company is at a site
Replies: 22
Views: 369

Re: When a company is at a site

Snowstorm creates the passive condition which is checked for a company during their movement/hazard phase. Why? (Though ICE never bothered to define what actually constitutes "movement," so the situation is sticky.) What about Snowstorm would only make it apply during the movement/hazard phase? Far...

Go to advanced search