Search found 188 matches

by Theo
Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:21 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: SPOILER Errors - Post Here
Replies: 19
Views: 1128

Re: SPOILER Errors - Post Here

Fell Winter (The Wizards): "Wolves - strikes" should be "Wolves - 3 strikes"
by Theo
Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:48 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Morgul-Rats On Guard
Replies: 15
Views: 422

Re: Morgul-Rats On Guard

An interesting twist, if I haven't missed any evidence: You can't play Morgul-Rats (normally) on a moving company because a moving company is not at any site until the end of the movement/hazard phase. You may use a creature card to directly attack one of your opponent's companies. Such an attack ca...
by Theo
Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:57 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Agent attacks during site phase
Replies: 3
Views: 62

Re: Agent attacks during site phase

I would totally agree (there is no ambiguity in my mind) if the phrase used plural automatic attack s as you both have done. It's that singular form that gives me pause. But I'm perfectly willing to go with it. Under that interpretation of "any", then, I would also expect that an agent couldn't atta...
by Theo
Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:02 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice
Replies: 3
Views: 42

Re: Untap Gandi - vs - tap - Out of Practice

Other than multiple in-play effects at the start of the movement/hazard phase, the resource player generally gets to choose the order of resolution. Annotation 10: If more than one action is required to be the first action declared in a chain of effects, the player whose turn it is chooses the order...
by Theo
Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:55 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Prophet of underground Doom
Replies: 8
Views: 196

Re: Prophet of underground Doom

The result of the subtraction is what is used for the influence check comparison for this card. Otherwise, what purpose would the card's instructions to perform a subtraction serve?
by Theo
Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:05 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Agent attacks during site phase
Replies: 3
Views: 62

Agent attacks during site phase

Attacking With an Agent During your opponent's site phase, each of your agents may attack a company if the following conditions are met: The agent is at the same site as the company. The company decides to enter the site. This attack is declared and enacted at the start of the site phase immediatel...
by Theo
Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 249

Re: Reluctant final parting question

This is a test for identity, performed also in result of successful riddling roll. Fact that a player does not have any card in hand at some moment, does not mean that the test cannot be performed. In such situation the test will end with negative result. This is a much better example than any I tr...
by Theo
Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Prophet of underground Doom
Replies: 8
Views: 196

Re: Prophet of underground Doom

This difference is what is used during the comparison for a successful influence check, and being undefined makes it impossible to ever satisfy that check. "the number of regions between Pallando's site and the site where the influence attempt would normally be made" is a modifier to influence chec...
by Theo
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:37 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Glove of Radagast
Replies: 3
Views: 68

Re: Glove of Radagast

Separately, the phrase " a copy of which he does not already control " only applies if Radagast himself currently controls the same titled ally. It is perfectly okay to have a Noble Hound in his company and play a second using the Glove, so long as the one already in play isn't under Radagast himse...
by Theo
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:32 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Prophet of underground Doom
Replies: 8
Views: 196

Re: Prophet of underground Doom

If the number may not be calculated, there is no modification. My opinion is rather that the resulting "difference" (the result of subtraction) itself becomes undefined. This difference is what is used during the comparison for a successful influence check, and being undefined makes it impossible t...
by Theo
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:28 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 249

Re: Reluctant final parting question

Would you agree that the card can be played on Bill the Pony, say, at an Underdeeps site? To me, that certainly seems like one of the two allowances of the card. Now consider the abstract structure of the card: "do W if (X or (Y equals Z))". If Z not existing makes the check for equality impossible-...
by Theo
Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 249

Re: Reluctant final parting question

On a side note: What is the nearest haven of a haven card like Dol Guldur? From the CRF: Darkhavens count as their own nearest Darkhaven. Havens count as their own nearest Haven. Rather, a non-existent value always fails to be equal to an existent value. I'm not certain that's the case for game pur...
by Theo
Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Reluctant final parting question
Replies: 13
Views: 249

Re: Reluctant final parting question

And how is possible that Reluctant affects to an ally that is playable in an Under-deeps site? Is there any errata or rule that prevents a Cave Troll to be discarded at his playable site? Thanxs! As long as a company doesn't stop moving it is immune to Reluctant Final Parting. But a Cave Troll (con...
by Theo
Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:20 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 75
Views: 984

Re: Old Road

You are ignoring, what I said before: Rather, I did not sufficiently correlate my comment to those earlier. Old Road with and without errata does not require an untapped Haven. vs. A faction card , ally card, or item card must be played during your site phase and requires an untapped character and ...
by Theo
Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:24 pm
Forum: 2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions
Topic: Old Road
Replies: 75
Views: 984

Re: Old Road

If you ignore the rules that explain a situation because you claim the an event that creates a new situation is creating an alternative to those rules, then a lot of short events' effects aren't fully specified. Case in point: Old Road and/or Hour of Need. If either circumvents the normal rules, wha...

Go to advanced search